Pilot: “Grace and Frankie”

  
When you’re associated with a particular network, the stakes and expectations are already pretty high. One wrong move and you may have just convinced a whole lot of people to tune you out.

The Skydance Productions “Grace and Frankie”, doesn’t appear as if anyone will be leaving anytime soon, but that’s just at this moment. It could become tiresome really quickly.

This comedy drama stars Jane Fonda (“This Is Where I Leave You”, “The Newsroom”), Lily Tomlin (upcoming “Grandma”, “Admission”), Sam Waterston (“The Newsroom”, “Law & Order”), Martin Sheen (“Selma”, “Anger Management”), Brooklyn Decker (upcoming “Results”, “Friends with Better Lives”), June Diane Raphael (“Unfinished Business”, “New Girl”), Ethan Embry (upcoming “Echoes of War”, “Late Phases”), and Baron Vaughn (“Jason Nash is Married”, “EEnlisted”).

The series was created by Marta Kauffman (“Georgia”, “Five”) and Howard J. Morris (“Sullivan and Son”, “Call Me Crazy: A Five Film”).

It began airing on May 8, 2015 on Netflix.

I don’t know how I’m keeping up. There’s just so many shows on Netflix, old and new, that it’s hard to keep track. Some are worth getting excited about, and others not so much. While I’m still a bit surprised that it’s already May, seeing as this show has now premiered, I’m also a bit tired. I’ve barely finished some others and there’s still so many more to watch. I think Netflix needs to fix its schedule or I need to get better at my binge-watching.

This is a comedy. I get that and, honestly, I think I actually enjoyed it. Maybe not all of the jokes were funny, but I enjoyed enough of what happened or was said, to enjoy it for 35 minutes.

Getting right down to it, as of right now, I thoroughly enjoy all the actors and their crazy characters. They’re eccentric enough to get some good comedic moments from, but also created in a way where there can be dramatic moments too. It’s because of these moments that you’ll find yourself enjoying whats going on and wanting more.

However, at the same time, this same zaniness, could also make you annoyed. I think I found myself feeling this for a brief second, but I’m not too sure.

I’ve so far enjoyed watching Fonda and Tomlin together and hope that the antics involving one or both of them continues, but, of course, not just so you can have antics. Even some of the dialogue has been worth hearing twice. It was that fresh and funny.

With regards to Sheen and Waterston, there doesn’t seem to be anything that stands out, like with Fonda and Tomlin. They appear to be cute and have good chemistry, but, especially for me, it’s just weird. Weird only because I’ve seen other films or TV shows that they’ve appeared in and absolutely enjoyed them. If I didn’t like these two actors so much, which is partly why I’m watching, then I’d probably have no problems. I’m sure these thoughts won’t really matter or hold as I continue through the show. The only thing that will matter is do I think the show’s worth watching past this one season.

While I may feel exhausted from all the shows coming out, with very little time to watch them all, which I do know is my own doing and what not, I’m surprisingly ready and willing to watch this show. For now, at least, it’s worth it. If I discover it’s all antics and barely any story, then I may decide it’s not worth it. I guess the good thing is it’s now the weekend, and there shall (hopefully), be plenty of time to watch some more. And with that, I now feel the need to watch episode three! What? Episode two went by quite quickly today. Sorry.

Leave a comment