2019 Academy Awards Nominations Brought A lot of Surprise and Expected Results

A.M.P.A.S.

The Razzie Award nominees have been announced, so you know what that means? Oscar nominations day has arrived! Okay, that doesn’t roll off the tongue, but it’s no less exciting! The climax of awards season has finally come and the little over month long wait now begins! But before we begin that, we must start with the nominees. It’s why so many of us woke up earlier than usual or when we should on a day that’s not a work day.

For this year’s ceremony, I decided to once again write and tweet, as quickly as possible, my live reactions. Most definitely not an easy task.

And of course I’m almost late. Oy. What a way to start. And the rambling begins, which unfortunately for me meant that I had to listen to awful back and forth jokes between Kumail Nanjiani and Tracee Ellis Ross, who announced this year’s nominees. Some of their banter was okay, but largely it was just irritating and not that funny.

While the writing what my reactions were during the actual nominations broadcast didn’t last long, it was none the less, an exciting time. SO many nominees I hadn’t even really thought were gonna eek through. Now, that being said, it’s because this year, unlike previous years, I haven’t been able to fully obsess over all of the films in contention. I’ve missed so many too, that I’m half wondering why I’m even doing this.

Either way, I’m going to take a quick look and see what there is to be excited about or start to become excited about. There’s plenty there, that I’m sure of!

And the 2019 nominees are!:

Best Supporting Actress:

Amy Adams – “Vice”

Marina De Tavira – “Roma”

Regina King – “IF Beale Street Could Talk”

Emma Stone – “The Favourite”

Rachel Weisz – “The Favourite”

None of this is really surprising. Tavira’s nomination surprised me, but, again, I haven’t really been paying attention. I really need to watch this film! So excited for the double “The Favourite” nominations in this category! A film I’m dying to see!! It looks amazing and funny!!

Best Costume Design:

“The Ballad of Buster Scruggs” – Mary Zophres

“Black Panther” – Ruth Carter

“The Favourite” – Sandy Powell

“Mary Poppins Returns” – Sandy Powell

“Mary Queen of Scots” – Alexandra Byrne

Best Achievement in Sound Mixing:

“Black Panther” – Steve Boeddeker, Brandon Proctor and Peter Devlin

“Bohemian Rhapsody” – Paul Massey, Tim Cavagin and John Casali

“First Man” – Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño, Al-Ling Lee and Mary H. Ellis

“Roma” – Skip Lievsay, Craig Henighan and José Antonio García

“A Star is Born” – Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic, Jason Ruder and Steve Morrow

Best Sound Editing:

“Black Panther” – Benjamin A. Burtt and Steve Boeddeker

“Bohemian Rhapsody” – John Warhurst and Nina Hartstone

“First Man” – Al-Ling Lee and Mildred Iatrou Morgan

“A Quiet Place” – Ethan Van der Ryn and Erik Aadahl

“Roma” – Sergio Diaz and Skip Lievsay

Best Animated Short Film:

“Animal Behaviour” – Alison Snowden and Dvid Fine

“Bao” – Domee Shi and Becky Neiman-Cobb

“Late Afternoon” – Louise Bagnall and Nuria González Blanco

“One Small Step” – Andrew Chesworth and Bobby Pontillas

“Weekends” – Trevor Jimenez

Best Live Action Short:

“Detainment” – Vincent Lambe and Darren Mahon

“Fauve” – Jeremy Comte and Maria Gracia Turgeon

“Marguerite” – Marianne Farley and Marie-Hélène Panisset

“Mother” – Rodrigo Sorogoyen and María Del Puy Alvarado

“Skin” – Guy Nattiv and Jaime Ray Newman

As with each year, most of these I’ve not yet even heard of. Hopefully I get to see “Skin” which sees Newman being nominated which is even more exciting seeing as I’ve been watching her work since she popped up on “Veronica Mars”, way back in 2006! WOW!! SO exciting!!!

Best Original Score:

“Black Panther” – Ludwig Goransson

“BLACKkKlansman” – Terence Blanchard

“If Beale Street Could Talk” – Nicholas Britell

“Isle of Dogs” – Alexandre Desplat

“Mary Poppins Returns” – Marc Shaiman

Coz I didn’t have enough music to listen to already. Guess I better get to streaming and watching!

Best Achievement in Film Editing:

“BLACKkKlansman” – Barry Alexander Brown

“Bohemian Rhapsody” – John Ottman

“The Favourite” – Yorgos Mavropsaridis

“Green Book” – Patrick J. Don Vito

“Vice” – Hank Corwin

Best Supporting Actor:

Mahershala Ali – “Green Book”

Adam Driver – “BLACKkKlansman”

Sam Elliott – “A Star is Born”

Richard E. Grant – “Can You Ever Forgive Me?”

Sam Rockwell – “Vice”

How many of these men are first time nominees?! No, seriously. Driver is and Elliott is too!! What?! Grant as well?! This is amazing!!! So many films I need to see!

Best  Foreign Language Film:

“Capernaum” – Lebanon

“Cold War” – Poland

“Never Look Away” – Germany

“Roma” – Mexico

“Shoplifters” – Japan

Best Documentary Short Subject:

“Black Sheep” – Ed Perkins and Jonathan Chinn

“End Game” – Rob Epstein and Jeffrey Friedman

“Lifeboat” Skye Fitzgerald and Bryn Mooser

“A Night at the Garden” – Marshall Curry

“Period. End of Sentence.” – Rayka Zehtabchi and Melissa Berton

Best Documentary Feature:

“Free Solo” – Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi, Jimmy CHin, Evan Hayes and Shannon Dill

“Hale County This Morning, This Evening” – Ramell Ross, Joslyn Barnes and Su Kim

“Minding the Gap” – Bing Liu and DIan Quon

“OF Fathers and Sons” – Talal Derki, Ansgar Frerich, Eva Keme and Tobias N. Siebert

“RBG” – Betsy West and Julie Cohen

Best Production Design:

“Black Panther” – Hannah Beachler and Jay Hart

“The Favourite” – Fiona Crombie and Alice Felton

“First Man” – Nathan Crowley and Kathy Lucas

“Mary Poppins Returns” – John Myhre and Gordon Sim

“Roma” – Eugenio Caballero and Bárbara Enríquez

Best Cinematography:

“Cold War” – Lukasz Zal

“The Favourite” – Robbie Ryan

“Never Look Away” – Caleb Deschanel

“Roma” – Alfonso Cuarón

“A Star is Born” – Matthew Libatique

While Libatique didn’t pop up too much, I enjoyed his work for “A Star is Born”. I could also see that while it looked different, it was clearly his style.

Best Visual Effects:

“Avengers: Infinity War” – Dan Deleeuw, Kelly Port, Russell Earl and Dan Sudick

“Christopher Robbin” – Christopher Lawrence, Michael Eames, Theo Jones and Chris Corbould

“First Man” – Paul Lambert, Ian Hunter, Tristan Myles and J. D. Schwalm

“Ready Player One” – Roger Guyett, Grady Cofer, Matthew E. Butler and David Shirk

“Solo: A Star Wars Story” – Rob Bredow, Patrick Tubach, Neal Scanlan and Dominic Tuohy

Best Makeup and Hairstyling:

“Border” – Göran Lundström and Pamela Goldammer

“Mary Queen of Scots” – Jeny Shircore, Marc Pilcher and Jessica Brooks

“Vice” – Greg Cannom, Kate Biscoe and Patricia Dehaney

Best Animated Feature:

“Incredibles 2” – Brad Bird, John Walker and Nicole Paradis Grindle

“Isle of Dogs” – Wes Anderson, Scott Rudin, Steven Rales and Jeremy Dawson

“Mirai” – Mamoru Hosoda and Yuichiro Saito

“Ralph Breaks the Internet” – Rich Moore, Phil Johnston and Clark Spencer

“Spider-Man: Into the Sipider-verse” – Bob Persichetti, Peter Ramsey, Rodney Rothman, Phil Lord and Christopher Miller

Best Original Song:

“All the Stars from “Black Panther” – Mark Spears, Kendrick Lamar Duckworth, Anthony Tiffith and Solana Rowe

“I’ll Fight” from “RBG” – Diane Warren

“The Place Where Lost Things Go” from “Mary Poppins Returns” – Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman

“Shallow” from “A Star is Born” – Lady Gaga, Mark Ronson, Anthony Rossomando and Andrew Wyatt

“When a Cowboy Trades His Spurs for Wings” from “The Ballad of Buster Scruggs” – DAvid Rawlings and Gillian Welch

“Shallow” is quite good. Right now, it’s the one I’m rooting for!

Best Adapted Screenplay:

“The Ballad of Buster Scruggs” – Joel Coen and Ethan Coen

“BLACKkKlansman” – Charlie Wachtel & David Rabinowitz and Kevin Willmott & Spike Lee

“Can You Ever Forgive Me?” – Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty

“If Beale Street Could Talk” – Barry Jenkins

“A Star is Born” – Eric Roth and Bradley Cooper & Will Fetters

The first of the writing categories and I can’t tell which I’m more excited for. So many I want to see and read, assuming they’re still online to read and learn from.

Best Original Screenplay:

“The Favourite” – Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara

“First Reformed” – Paul Schrader

“Green Book” – Nick Vallelonga, Brian Currie and Peter Farrelly

“Roma” – Alfonso Cuarón

“Vice” – Adam McKay

Once more, many I wanna read and learn from and see just why these made the top five!

Best Leading Actor:

Christian Bale – “VIce”

Bradley Cooper – “A Star is Born”

Willem Dafoe – “At Eternity’s Gate”

Rami Malek – “Bohemian Rhapsody”

Viggo Mortensen – “Green Book”

I’m honestly not sure why I’m against Malek being nominated. Somehow I am. Perhaps it’s the collective negative response to the whole film. I like him in “Mr. Robot”, so I can’t really say I’m not excited for his next project. Guess I’ll just have to see the film at some point. Dafoe is a major surprise to me. I’ve barely even heard of this film.

Best Leading Actress:

Yalitza Aparicio – “Roma”

Glenn Close – “The Wife”

Olivia Colman – “The Favourite”

Lady Gaga – “A Star is Born”

Melissa McCarthy – “Can You Ever Forgive Me?”

What?! And now I really need to see McCarthy’s film! She’s unfortunately more a hit or miss actress, but maybe this will help convince her to be more selective with her roles. Love that Gaga, Close, Colman and Aparicio are nominated. Gaga has already wowed me, especially as it’s the biggest role and film she’s had to carry (and her first film), so there was a lot that could’ve gone wrong. The others, I just can’t wait to see!

Best Director:

“BLACKkKlansman”- Spike Lee

“Cold War” – Pawel Pawlikoski

“The Favourite” – Yorgos Lanthimos

“Roma” – Alfonso Cuarón

“Vice” – Adam McKay

Best Picture: (Awarded to Producers)

“Black Panther” – Kevin Feige

“BLACKkKlansman” – Sean McKittrick, Jason Blum, Raymond Mansfield, Jordan Peele and Spike Lee

“Bohemian Rhapsody” – Graham King

“The Favourite” – Ceci Dempsey, Ed Guiney, Lee Magiday and Yorgos Lanthimos

“Green Book” – Jim Burke, Charles B. Wessler, Brian Currie, Peter Farrelly and Nick Vallelonga

“Roma” – Gabriela Rodríguez and Alfonso Cuarón

“A Star is Born” – Bill Gerber, Bradley Cooper and Lynette Howell Taylor

“Vice” – Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Adam McKay and Kevin Messick

And with this category, I’m even more unsure of what to think. Still against “Bohemian Rhapsody”, but, again, that could change later. “The Favourite” has always been my favorite (sorry, I couldn’t not), as the trailer’s always had me laughing and loving it, so I can’t wait to see it and expect it to live up to all of my hopes! “A Star is Born” is the only one I’ve seen, and other than one slight issue, I LOVED it! I’m sure the rest won’t disappoint me either.

On an important note, and purely from the first glance of reading these names, this is a pretty diverse group of nominees. Probably not all the areas were hit, but we’re at least stepping a little bit outside of just racial diversity. We’ve got older actors in these categories and that’s almost a rarity, especially with the many nominated this year. Back to racial diversity, well, it’s pretty damn diverse!! Across MANY categories!! I can’t wait, even though I’m also afraid, of some of the pieces that have and will come out today and through the next few days.

For now, that’s it from me. Well, unless I throw something up on Twitter.

You an find my Twitter account on your right, and I look forward to continuing this conversation!

The winners will be announced on Feb. 24, 2019 at 8e/5p on ABC!

Leave a comment