The 2018 Academy Awards Winners Were Announced With Little Surprise

A.M.P.A.S.


It’s here!!! At long last, the 90th Academy Awards has arrived!!! I’ve been waiting for so long! And that’s all I can say. Up until tonight’s ceremony (5pm PT), I hadn’t even made any predictions. ANY. It’s truly the most disappointing thing I’ve done this year. Here’s hoping my predictions aren’t wrong. Well, too wrong. I’m trying to do better than last year, which was seriously abysmal.

I should say now, before I forget, the reason I hope my prediction are right isn’t just because I’m aiming to do my best this year, it’s because I seriously borrowed from another film lover. Alicia Malone. If you don’t know who she is, Google. It will be well worth it! Anywho. I heavily borrowed from what she publicly published, but that’s because I hadn’t made any and din’t want to not have any. mind you, with that being said, I studied them and most of them were probably the same ones I would’ve made. The only difference that I made, was with Best Picture. I chose “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” over “The Shape of Water”.

And now, host Jimmy Kimmel, has said the first category is finally going to be announced! On with the show!!

And the Oscar goes to…

Best Supporting Actor

Sam Rockwell – “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

Woohoo!!! First one right!!! So excited!! I seriously can’t wait to see my copy of this film! Yes, an impulse buy still has to be watched. Decent speech, but nothing that anybody will ever remember.

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

“Darkest Hour”- Kazuhiro Tsuji, David Malinowski and Lucy Sibbick

WOOHOO!!!

Best Costume Design

“Phantom Thread” – Mark Bridges

Best Documentary Feature

“Icarus” Bryan Fogel and Dan Cogan

I’m now intrigued by what this film is about. SO, there’s at least that upside!

Two time Academy Award nominee, Mary J. Blige is now performing “Mighty River” from “Mudbound”. I’m liking it so far. Not bad at all! I definitely want to hear the rest of the song now and see how it moves me.

Best Sound Editing

“Dunkirk”- Richard King and Alex Gibson

Best Sound Mixing

“Dunkirk”- Gregg Landaker, Gary A. Rizzo and Mark Weingarten

Best Production Design

“The Shape of Water” – Paul Austerberry, Shane Vieau and Jeffrey A. Melvin

YES!!! Seriously, I need to see this film!!!

Best Foreign Language Film

“A Fantastic Woman” – Chile

Best Supporting Actress

Allison Janney “I, Tonya”

YES!!! I absolutely love her and can’t wait to see this film!!!

Best Animated Short Film

“Dear Basketball”Glen Keane and Kobe Bryant

WOW!!! This is exciting!!

Best Animated Feature Film

“Coco” – Lee Unkrich and Darla K. Anderson

I’m beyond thrilled to see this film!!

Best Visual Effects

“Blade Runner 20149” – John Nelson, Gerd Nefzer, Paul Lambert and Richard R. Hoover

Best Film Editing

“Dunkirk” – Lee Smith

Best Documentary Short Subject

“Heaven is a Traffic Jam on the 405” – Frank Stiefel

Live Action Short Film

“The Silent Child” – Chris Overton and Rachel Shenton

WHAT?!?! Amazing!! I wasn’t aware of what the subject matter was and now I’m really wanting to see this film! That and Shenton, as it turns out, once I looked up to see her on screen, after hearing her for a little bit, was on “Switched at Birth”!! AMAZING!!! Even more thrilled!!

Best Adapted Screenplay

“Call Me By Your Name” – James Ivory

Best Original Screenplay

“Get Out” – Jordan Peele

Best Cinematography

“Blade Runner 2049” – Roger Deakins

Best Original Score

“The Shape of Water” – Alexandre Desplat

Best Original Song

“Remember Me” – “Coco”

What?! AMAZING!!! Two Academy Awards now?! I really have to see this film!!!

Best Director

Guillermo del Toro – “The Shape of Water”

YES!!! AMAZING WIN!!! Five of the last six years have seen this award go to a person of color!

Best Actor

Gary Oldman – “Darkest Hour”

Best Actress

Frances McDormand – “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

WOOHOO!!! And McDormand wins for most memorable acceptance speech. It had just about everything all the others did not, which is unusual. A lot of other areas have stood out, but not the speeches, so at least we got McDormand.

Best Picture

“The Shape of Water”

And there are the winners of the 2018 Academy Awards!!

Very few surprises, which is okay, but I still enjoyed my time and recognizing all of these films. I have a lot to see, so I hope they get released on DVD/Blu ray soon!

I did better than last year, but definitely bungled the final category. Guess I’ll have to live with a score of 19/24.

How did everyone else do? Were there surprises?

Leave a comment