‘Tis the Season: “2017 Golden Globe Awards: Winners”

Tonight’s the night! The beginning of the end of awards season. We’ve heard the nominees and hopefully saw a few of them, and now it’s time to crown the winner. Up first, the Hollywood Foreign Press Association’s (HFPA) picks for the best films of 2016! It’s usually an interesting night, and a few surprises can sometimes be had, so let’s hope that tonight is no different. It wouldn’t be the same if it was completely predictable.

With tonight’s ceremony once again on the National Broadcasting Company (NBC), and hosted by Jimmy Fallon, I can only hope for good things. Okay, okay, decent. The downside to most of these shows, the jokes are never that funny and the bits go on for far too long.

Okay! Here we go!!

Remember, ladies and gentlemen, these thoughts were had as the three hour program went along. If you don’t like them fully, keep this in mind. For additional thoughts, track down my Twitter account and peruse the many tweets I no doubt had. Well, I hope there were many.

Fallon’s opening bit! Parodying “La La Land”!! And bringing in various characters from the nominated films and television shows from 2016. It’s too cute!!

The scope is amazing!! Wow! They must’ve taken some time to figure this out. “Room Full of Stars” (not the parodied song’s title), but it’s hilarious still!

And now the monologue! Hope this is good.

First dig at President-elect Donald J. Trump. Not bad.

“…and even she turned down performing at Donald Trump’s Inauguration.” Second Trump joke, which was followed by a Vladimir Putin joke. Not unexpected. So, does that make the tally three now? I’ll say three.

Best Supporting Actor in a Motion Picture

Aaron Taylor-Johnson – “Nocturnal Animals”

WHAT?!?! The fuck?! How?!?! I’m not even listening to his obnoxious voice. This should be an interesting conversation later tonight and tomorrow.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Television Series – Drama

Billy-Bob Thornton – “Goliath”

I’m so happy! Funny speech. Now I really need to finish this series. Hopefully this helps convince Amazon that the series needs to be renewed.

Best Actress in a TV Series – Musical or Comedy

Tracee Ellis Ross – “Black-ish”

WOW! This is exciting. First nomination and now a win! Can’t say that of many people. Wow. That speech was great. She said some great things about diversity. When listening, I like and got what she said, but I also thought that it would be nice if that train of thought could be applied to other minority’s or people’s who make something diverse. Who make this country and the world diverse. I also wish I’d written down even some of her quote, as that would probably help those reading now, as they probably don’t remember what she said. Dang it!

Best TV Series – Comedy or Musical

“Atlanta”

First time nominee and I’m so glad for creator/star Donald Glover! That’s incredible! Add this to the list of shows I really need to check out.

Best Actress in a Limited Series or TV Movie

Sarah Paulson – “The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story”

Who didn’t see this coming?! Not just out of predictability, but because she truly deserved it. She had such an amazing character and so much to work with. It not only gave me a reason to genuinely like Ryan Murphy and something he created (once more), but to see why it is I’ll watch anything with Paulson in it. She’s incredible!

Best Limited Series or TV Movie

“The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story”

That was kind of a tough call. So many well deserving, good and talked about programs. I honestly would’ve been okay with any of them winning. Producer Nina Jacobson is amazing. I’m loving this speech, even if she’s reading a pre-written statement. It’s certainly well written.

Best Actor in a Series, Miniseries or Motion Picture Made for Television

Hugh Laurie – “The Night Manager”

WHAT?! I was expecting John Lithgow. Wow! I knew there was a reason I wanted to see this program.

Laurie just made a good joke about the upcoming Trump presidency. Hilarious! And he’s still going at it.

Good God. Fallon, what the hell kind of joke was that? Poor Sting and Carrie Underwood.

Best Original Score

Justin Hurwitz – “La La Land”

It really is a unique and beautiful score. I’m thrilled. I also had no doubt that Hurwitz and “La La Land” would win this category.

Best Original Song

“City of Stars” – “La La Land”

Double win!! Amazing!! An original musical definitely deserved to win.

Best Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture

Viola Davis – “Fences”

As much as I’m thrilled by this win, it comes as no surprise. I guess I can say, probably should’ve said it sooner, that predictability has arrived. I’ve loved pretty much everything I’ve seen her in, and I can’t wait to see this film. And she also delivered another stellar acceptance speech!

Best Actress in a Supporting Role in a Series, Limited Series or Motion Picture Made for Television

Olivia Coleman – “The Night Manager”

Okay. Not a bad choice. Still need to watch it.

Best Actor in a Motion Picture – Comedy or Musical

This bit from presenters Amy Schumer and Goldie Hawn (WHAT?!) is funny, but I can’t tell if it’s deliberate or truly accidental. Again, it’s funny either way, but it’s kind of sad and annoying.

Ryan Gosling – “La La Land”

OHMYGOSH!! This is exciting!! I really need to see this film. Every time I see an ad or hear a song, anything, I just get so excited. I don’t think I’m just getting swept up in the noise. I truly believe this film has potential and that it’ll deliver.

Best Screenplay – Motion Picture

Damien Chazelle – “La La Land”

Oh my god!! Even now I’m so thrilled!! While this win isn’t a great indicator of what will come at the Academy Awards, it’s still amazing. Again, I definitely want to see this film! I HAVE to see this in theaters!

Best Animated Feature

“Zootopia”

There’s a shocker. Not. It was high up there to win. It’s also an animated film that I need to see still. I can’t figure out how that’s possible, but it is.

Okay I get the desire to honor Carrie Fisher and Debbie Reynolds (as they were mother and daughter and died one day apart), but was the “In Memoriam” not enough? Honestly, what makes them more special than any of the other people we lost? It’s like the 50th Anniversary of “The Sound of Music” (I think that was it. Lady Gaga came out and sang) honor. What made it so special? So many other films had passed 50 and yet, no recognition was given.

Best Foreign Language Film

“Elle” (France)

WOW!! I’m so thrilled! Now I’m trying to figure out if it qualified for the Oscars. I don’t think it did. Hmm…

Best Actor in a Limited Series or a Movie

Tom Hiddleston – “The Night Manager”

That’s three for “The Night Manager”! Pretty much tells me I definitely need to see this miniseries.

Best Actress in a Television Series – Drama

Claire Foy – “The Crown”

They were right. And another reason why I need to see this series.

Best TV Series – Drama

“The Crown”

Definitely going to need to see this series.

Cecile B. DeMille Award for Lifetime Achievement

Tonight’s winner, Davis is back! Introducing tonight’s honoree. Loving it so far! Davis really was a great choice to present this honor. She’s gonna make me cry. So touching. So beautiful.

She’s so cute! Bringing up soon-to-be President Trump.

Great mention of how we’re all foreigners. Listing off where other actors are from or who they played and where they were raised. Beautiful. Then back to President-elect Trump, but not just to shame. To make a point. A good and fair point. A great point about needing to protect the press. So many great things were said. Even with a hoarse voice, which almost sounds like it belongs with some new character, she delivered. It’s why I do love these Lifetime Achievement awards.

Best Director

Damien Chazelle – “La La Land”

I’m truly amazed! God!! Unbelievable!! This film could win all of its nominations here, which I’m sure isn’t something that happens all that often, even at this particular awards show.

Best Actor in a Television Series – Comedy or Musical

Donald Glover – “Atlanta”

I’m thrilled by this win! Says a lot about his abilities as an actor and creator.

Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy

Emma Stone – “La La Land”

Incredible!! I’m also loving her speech right now. It’s perfect! That was beautiful! She really nailed that speech. I knew there was a reason to love this woman!

Jessica Chastain is taking the stage!! I love it!!

Best Motion Picture – Comedy or Musical

“La La Land”

That’s a straight sweep!! WOW!! I can’t believe it!! Again, I really must see this film. I HAVE to see this film!

Best Actor in a Motion Picture – Drama

Casey Affleck – “Manchester by the Sea”

Almost missed this one. Why are there so many films that I need to see?! I hate this.

Best Actress in a Motion Picture – Drama

Isabelle Huppeert – “Elle”

WOW!! I think I was fully on the Natalie Portman train. Wow. This is incredible. Will she be able to break through with the Oscars?

Best Motion Picture – Drama

“Moonlight”

Okay! The rest of awards season has now officially gotten interesting. It’s been heavily favored, and really seems to be the only film in contention against “La La Land”, so this is exciting! Also, it’s an indie, and who doesn’t love when independent films break through?!

And that’s a wrap! While dull at times, and mildly predictable, there were still plenty of moments to be surprised by, to laugh at and to feel inspired by. It’s one of the reasons I love award shows. I also love them, because a variety of lesser known or hyped about films can be highlighted and honored. Hopefully you and I both have enough time to see each and every one!

Leave a comment