‘Tis The Season: “2017 Academy Awards: Winners”

thumbnail_file

Awards season is finally coming to a close. It’s been a long journey for a lot of films and while so many of them seem to be shoe-ins for wins, there’s always the unexpected. Last year, like every year, that I’ve been really paying attention, saw the release of a lot of good and high profile films, along with enough bad films to make you want to curl up into a ball and cry. While it seems unfair at times that only a select few get continuous positive coverage, it’s just the way the game works. Sometimes it’s warranted and other times it’s just plain bizarre. However, even if only a handful of films keep being praised so highly, it doesn’t mean that others aren’t just as good. It just means they couldn’t cut through all the noise, good and bad.

This year, more than any other year, there’s one film I’m rooting for the most. Mind you, up until yesterday, it was the only one of the big films that I’d so far seen. While I’m excited to see how the others fair, this singular film still has me over the moon excited! If you hadn’t guessed it yet, that film is “La La Land”. It did everything I had hoped and is one I truly feel deserves the recognition it’s getting.

That being said, I’m mainly excited to see how the winners stack up to my predictions. I’m not too certain I’ll be as right as I’m expecting, but I’m hopeful. Perhaps there won’t be too many surprises, and depending on who you ask, that could be a good thing or a bad thing.

As with all awards shows and nominations I write about, I’ll be throwing in live commentary of all sorts. Opinions on the winners, their speeches and the show itself. If you want more, if there’s more, check out my Twitter (@stevgor_) and see what all I had to say. There could very well be something different that doesn’t make it here in this write up.

With Jimmy Kimmel as host, I’m not too sure what’ll happen. Hopefully he doesn’t bomb as badly as last year’s host. Here’s hoping I don’t regret watching.

Number Correct: (15/24)

And the winners of the 2017 Academy Awards are!

Okay, so apparently we’re going to start with Justin Timberlake performing “Can’t Stop the Feeling”. A slightly different approach than I was expecting. And I’m actually enjoying this. It’s a great change to what’s typically done at the start of each show.

And now the host!

Of course, a slight dig at President Trump and the way he’s turning this country into the biggest laughingstock the world’s probably ever seen.

Matt Damon jokes, because of course! It’s Kimmel. How could he not. And a second Trump joke. How many more will there be?

Homeland Security reference.

And, of course, there’s a reference to Meryl Streep and that bit when she was called “overrated”. So brilliant. So amazing.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role

Mahershala Ali – “Moonlight”

As expected!! Woohoo!! I don’t know what role it was that told me to keep an eye out for him, and I’m so glad I have been. I can’t wait to see this film later this year!

A beautiful speech. God, I really want to see this film. There’s so much, I’m sure, to get from that film.

Best Achievement in Makeup and Hairstyling

“Suicide Squad”

WHAT?!? What the fuck?!?! How?? Definitely not pleased with this win. And, first surprise.

Best Achievement in Costume Design

Colleen Atwood – “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them”

Wow! I’m not too surprised she won, but I’m a little sad. I was so hopeful for Mary Zophres. Oh well. What can you do? I must say too, Atwood was a good choice.

Best Documentary Feature

Ezra Edelman and Caroline Waterlow – “O.J.: Made in America”

Yes!! I was right!! Interesting speech too.

And apparently Dwayne Johnson is introducing “How Far I’ll Go” from “Moana”. Okay. Let’s see how this goes. I could go either way on Lin-Manuel Miranda’s opening. I’m enjoying this song all over again, and I’ve never even seen the film. Gotta love YouTube!

Best Achievement in Sound Editing

Sylvain Bellemare – “Arrival”

Best Achievement in Sound Mixing

Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright, Robert Mackenzie and Peter Grace – “Hacksaw Ridge”

Wow! I’m not doing too well. The only upside is that I never know how to choose in the sound categories. I can’t say these are bad winners as I did love everything about these two films.

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role

Viola Davis – “Fences”

WOW!!! She did it!! She won!! Davis, assuming my facts and research is correct, also broke a lengthy record. She’s the first actress to win in this category and not be a first time nominee. A 17 year long record and it, I’m sure, was rightly broken by a highly deserving and incredible woman. This speech is amazing!!

Best Foreign Language Film

“The Salesman” (Iran) – Asghar Farhadi (Director)

Best Animated Short Film

Piper – Alan Barillaro and Marc Sondheimer

YES!!! I knew this short film would win!!! I’m so happy!!!

Best Animated Feature Film

“Zootopia” – Byron Howard, Rich Moore and Clark Spencer

Woohoo!!! I knew this film would win!! Another double win for Disney!!

Best Production Design

David Wasco and Sandy Reynolds-Wasco – “La La Land”

I knew it!!! I’m so glad. So proud and amazed!! Also, the film finally won and award!! Will this be just the beginning?

I liked the bit with the tour bus, but it really didn’t need to go on as long as it did. This is one of the reasons why awards shows are too damn long and get irritating. No wonder the ratings dip from year to year and seldom go up. Thank god it’s over now.

Best Achievement in Visual Effects

“The Jungle Book” – Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones and Dan Lemmon

Damn. I should’ve kept my vote here. I should’ve listened to those that knew better.

Best Achievement in Film Editing

John Gilbert – “Hacksaw Ridge”

Wow! I was just really hoping another would win. I can’t say that this is a bad win. There was so much there and it came together quite well.

Best Documentary Short Subject

“The White Helmets” – Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasagra

I seldom get this category right. Another instance where I should’ve trusted those who know more than me.

Best Live Action Short Film

“Sing” – Kristof Deak and Anna Udvardy

Once again, I got it wrong. These are the toughest to choose from as I never get to see them. I hope these films become available later on.

Best Achievement in Cinematography

Linus Sandgren – “La La Land”

Another win!! I’m just over the moon about this win. The work was incredible!

A special edition of Mean Tweets. This should be interesting. Okay, it was pretty hilarious. The stupid things some people come up with.

Best Original Score

Justin Hurwitz – “La La Land”

God. I’m so thrilled! It’s a brilliant and beautiful score. I never tire of hearing it.

Best Original Song

“City of Stars” – “La La Land” – Justin Hurwitz (Music), Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (Lyrics)

Yes!!! I knew it!! I never doubted it for a minute!! God, I’m so happy.

“And now, as Sara Bareilles performs…” The In Memoriam bit… this is going to be hard and beautiful. And it was. Hard, amazing and beautiful. So happy to see so many great contributors to the industry, even if it did make me sad.

Best Original Screenplay

And the Matt Damon/Kimmel bit is still going. Good god.

“Manchester by the Sea” – Kenneth Lonergan

Best Adapted Screenplay

“Moonlight” – Barry Jenkins (Screenplay) and Tarell Alvin McCraney (Story)

All I can say is that I really need to see this film.

Best Achievement in Directing

Damien Chazelle – “La La Land”

Of all the categories that I wasn’t too certain about, this was it. I can’t believe he won!! This film is truly something special. I love so much.

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

Casey Affleck – “Manchester by the Sea”

I had no doubt. I’m glad I watched the film just the other day. It was much better than I thought it would be, and with each viewer, I’m sure it’ll resonate similarly, but somehow differently between each person. Can’t believe it!

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

Emma Stone – “La La Land”

I knew it!! I’m so thrilled. I was also genuinely anxious. I always knew she’d win an Oscar one day. I’m so glad it’s for this role and in this film.

Best Picture

“La La Land”

Yes!!! ohmygod!!! I can’t believe it!!! I’m amazed. I’m so emotional. Probably not as much as they are, but enough. I don’t think I’ve ever been this thrilled about a best picture winner. It’s so strange. It’s incredible. WOW!!!

Wait.. wait… what? something… What’s going on…

“La La Land” didn’t win?? What?

“Moonlight”!

Wow! Not only embarrassing, but exciting. I’m a bit sad, especially after all that spent excitement, but I’m sure I’ll love the film when I get to see it.

Again! “Moonlight” has won the Academy Award for Best Picture.

And after that, I don’t think I can write anything clever. Nothing will suffice. I’m in shock, like the rest of the world that watched tonight’s telecast. I’m still thrilled about all the winners and not surprised my predictions were wrong in places. So many deserving films won and I can’t wait to catch all the rest.

Wow!

Final count, (15/24), which is how I did last year, so I’ll be kicking myself for some time. In 2015 I got (19/24) correct, so I’m really needing to rethink my predicting skills.

How did you do?! Let me know!

Leave a comment