‘Tis the Season: “2017 Screen Actors Guild Awards: Nominations”

Twice in one week?! I’ll take it! At least this time I didn’t have to wake in the wee hours of the morning to catch these nominations. I so hate when that’s a thing. However, losing sleep is usually something I can get past rather quickly. When there’s even a little tension and excitement floating around the room, it’s impossible to dwell on the lack of sleep. Mind you, there’s always the minutes following these types of announcements, and that’s usually never good.

This morning Sophia Bush (“Chicago P.D.”, “One Tree Hill”) and Common (upcoming “John Wick: Chapter 2”, “Suicide Squad”) announced the nominees for the 2017 Screen Actors Guild Awards, and did it in the most adorable kind of way. Seeing excitement come from Common was just an extra perk as it continued throughout most of the announcement, but when he managed to get Bush involved from time to time, it was even cuter. Talk about having a great way to begin the morning!

As it would turn out, there were far more surprises than I was expecting to get, but still enough predictability that I think I can begin making my 2017 Oscars Nominations guesses. How I love awards for the predictability that comes with them. Here’s hoping that there aren’t too many surprises during the ceremony itself. I don’t think I could handle it. Guess we’ll find out later!
The 23rd Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will be simulcast on TNT and TBS on Jan. 29, 2017.

And the nominees are!

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Leading Role

Amy Adams – “Arrival”

Emily Blunt – “The Girl on the Train”

Natalie Portman – “Jackie”

Emma Stone – “La La Land”

Meryl Streep – “Florence Foster Jenkins”

WHOA! Blunt?! Blunt?! While I love her and what she does, more often than not, I’m genuinely surprised. How did she eek through? Wow! Okay. Apparently actors like to throw a curve ball. The rest of these talented women, which does include Blunt, were pretty much expected. It’s the good and the bad of getting to this point in awards season. You can’t really be all that surprised. That being said, no nomination for Ruth Negga in “Loving”. While it’s great to see Blunt and Streep, I can’t help but think that one of these women took Negga’s spot. Most likely Blunt, but it’s still sad. I just thought they’d be blown away by her nuanced performance. It’s funny, I say that as someone who’s only seen the trailer and a few clips. If I can be that blown away from just that, how come the actor’s couldn’t from the whole film? I hope this wasn’t an issue of not getting screeners or something. That would truly suck. And I’m also saddened by the exclusion of Jessica Chastain for “Miss Sloane”. I knew it was kind of a long shot, but I was hopeful. I guess that’s all I can be.

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Leading Role

Casey Affleck – “Manchester By the Sea”

Andrew Garfield – “Hacksaw Ridge”

Ryan Gosling – “La La Land”

Viggo Mortensen – “Captain Fantastic”

Denzel Washington – “Fences”

Once more we’ve got predictability! All but Mortensen we’re pretty much guaranteed. I say that like it’s a bad thing. I do love that Garfield is still being recognized. He’s an actor who amazed me in one film, and has allowed for me to keep an eye out on his other roles. And like with our leading ladies, Joel Edgerton’s performance in “Loving” was passed over. After these were announced it took me a moment to realize who was left out, and it just crushed me. However, I don’t think Negga’s and Edgerton’s exclusion actually says a lot about their chances at Oscar nominations. This could just be a fluke.

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Supporting Role

Viola Davis – “Fences”

Nicole Kidman – “Lion”

Naomie Harris – “Moonlight”

Octavia Spencer – “Hidden Figures”

Michelle Williams – “Manchester by the Sea”

Who was surprised? Nobody? Okay, that’s the right answer. After Spencer was nominated for the Golden Globe it reminded me that she’s a forceful presence. Also, that she’s far more recognizable (from an acting standpoint) than Janelle Monae, who was nominated for a Critics’ Choice award over Spencer. While she leaves open a space for any actress to come in, at least she’s now solidified even more, that she belongs in this group. The rest, keeping with the motion picture theme, are as expected. I’d go so far, and I’m not truly hoping this is how things shake out, to believe that Kidman could be another slot that any other actress could take. Guess we’ll have to wait and see.

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Supporting Role

Mahershala Ali – “Moonlight”

Jeff Bridges – “Hell or High Water”

Hugh Grant – “Florence Foster Jenkins”

Lucas Hedges – “Manchester By the Sea”

Dev Patel – “Lion”

Are you bored yet? No? Okay. Just checking. More of the same. However, Grant and Hedges don’t seem like sure fire things. I could be wrong, but the Oscar nominations like to surprise us like this. You’ve got your expected face on and suddenly things change. Such is life. I’m just thrilled to see all these people nominated and recognize and I can’t wait to watch. And Bridges! He’s popping up again! Great role and fantastic movie! As for Patel, well, I’m excited and saddened. While the rest of the world is going to harp about increased diversity, especially racial diversity, although there were a number of older actors nominated, it’s still not enough. I can’t get excited over more of the same. It’s like the Emmy’s. Throw in one minority actor who isn’t black and call it a day! Well, that’s what’s happened here, even though I’m confident Patel absolutely deserved it. While it’s still a slight uptick from more than just the past two years, it’s not enough. It’s still a noticeable spot on the industry as a whole and awards shows overall. All I can be is hopeful, even though, I don’t think this type of change is going to happen any time soon.

Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture

“Captain Fantastic”

“Fences”

“Hidden Figures”

“Manchester By the Sea”

“Moonlight”

WOW! “Captain Fantastic” surprises again. If I didn’t already want to see this film, it would’ve definitely shot to the top of my list! I like these other nominees and still desperately want to check them out! The thing that’s special about “Hidden Figures” is that it’s like with “The Help”. A strong female presence. It’s going to be tough to call which will win.

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Comedy Series

Uzo Aduba – “Orange is the New Black”

Jane Fonda – “Grace and Frankie”

Ellie Kemper – “Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt”

Julia Louis-Dreyfus – “Veep”

Lily Tomlin – “Grace and Frankie”

Fonda! Finally! That woman hasn’t received much recognition from this role, which is just a shame. I’m so glad she is. The rest, well, as good as they are, it’s not unexpected. Which reminds me, I need to catch up on “Orange is the New Black”.

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Drama Series

Millie Bobby Brown – “Stranger Things”

Claire Foy – “The Crown”

Thandie Newton – “Westworld”

Winona Ryder – “Stranger Things”

Robin Wright – “House of Cards”

WHAT!?! Ohmygod!! Look at all those newbie’s!! Talk about turning things upside down. Exciting to see those four new names, as well as Wright, but boy did that make me do some extra work. Nothing for “Downton Abbey”, “The Good Wife”, and these shows were up for the final time. Wow. This is exactly why I love awards shows, especially when actors are the only ones voting.

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Television Movie or Miniseries

Bryce Dallas Howard – “Black Mirror”

Felicity Huffman – “American Crime”

Audra McDonald – “Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar & Grill”

Sara Paulson – “The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story”

Kerry Washington – “Confirmation”

If anyone’s truly a surprise, it’s Howard. I like her enough to be excited about her nomination, but I need to see the episode too. I hear it’s good, like the show itself. While the other women are somewhat expected (Paulson was a definite) I’m still thrilled! I only need to see McDonald, so I know with certainty, the other women earned these spots.

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Comedy Series

Anthony Anderson – “Black-ish”

Tituss Burgess – “Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt”

Ty Burrell – “Modern Family”

William H. Macy – “Shameless”

Jeffrey Tambor – “Transparent”

Oh dear. I’m not well versed on these expected nominees. I truly don’t think any of these are new. I could be wrong, so don’t quote me on that.

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Drama Series

Sterling K. Brown – “This Is Us”

Peter Dinklage – “Game of Thrones”

John Lithgow – “The Crown”

Rami Malek – “Mr. Robot”

Kevin Spacey – “House of Cards”

Brown and Lithgow! What?! Welcome surprises and additions! Now I really don’t know who I want to see take home the Actor. So many good performances, of which Lithgow’s is the only one I haven’t had the pleasure of seeing. Gotta get on that!

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Television Movie or Miniseries

Riz Ahmed – “The Night Of”

Sterling K. Brown – “The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story”

Bryan Cranston – “All the Way”

John Turturro – “The Night Of”

Courtney B. Vance – “The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story”

Four out of five isn’t bad. I’ll watch Cranston’s TV movie later, but I’m sure he’ll deliver and this nomination will be understandable. The others, I get and expected. It’s also just exciting to see Brown get two nominations in one year! I knew he was an actor to keep an eye out for way back when he was on “Army Wives”.

Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Comedy Series

“The Big Bang Theory”

“Black-ish”

“Modern Family”

“Orange is the New Black”

“Veep”

I’m more meh I about this one. “Orange is the New Black” has won the last two years, so I’m not thinking that’s going to change. Just more of the same, even if it’s earned.

Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Drama Series

“The Crown”

“Downton Abbey”

“Game of Thrones”

“Stranger Things”

“Westworld”

Last one for “Downton Abbey”! And with so many new faces, I’m not sure. I will get behind “Westworld” as it stands more of a chance than “Downton Abbey”. Although if “Downton Abbey” does win, I won’t be upset.

Outstanding Performance by a Stunt Ensemble in a Motion Picture

“Captain America: Civil War”

“Doctor Strange”

“Nocturnal Animals”

“Hacksaw Ridge”

“Jason Bourne”

Outstanding Performance by a Stunt Ensemble in a Television Series

“Game of Thrones”

“Marvel’s Daredevil”

“Marvel’s Luke Cage”

“The Walking Dead”

“Westworld”

Collectively, I’m thrilled with all of these stunt ensemble nominations! From what I know about each of these shows and films, the one’s I’ve seen and have yet to, it’s not surprising they got nominations. Well, except for “Nocturnal Animals”. That one confuses me.

And last but not least, the SAG Life Achievement Award will be awarded to Lily Tomlin (“Grace and Frankie”).

Another year, another stellar choice! Can’t wait to see how they honor her and what she’ll say.
And there you go! The 2017 SAG Award nominations! A lot of surprises, but still enough predictability to keep most people happy. As we head into the last leg of awards season, we all know where things more or less stand. However, that being said, there’s always a shot that things will get upended by some unsuspecting person. it’s why having a dark horse can be quite fun.

Let me know what you think, and I’ll see you again when the winners are announced!

Leave a comment