“The Walking Dead: Daryl Dixon” Offers a Nice Start to a New Foreign Adventure

AMC

Desperation comes in all shapes and sizes. Relevancy does too, but for many they know when to call it quits. I guess legacy isn’t as important as it once was.

The AMC series premier of “The Walking Dead: Daryl Dixon”, based on “The Walking Dead” by Robert Kirkman, Tony Moore and Charlie Adlard, is a refreshing change from the usual, but needs to be careful with story choices and setups or viewers will flee like they did once before.

Whether we wanted it or not (I’m truly on the fence), it’s here. Another “Walking Dead” series that’s going to have to work really hard to prove it deserves to exist. After the so-so outing that was “Dead City” and the obnoxious first half of the final season of “Fear the Walking Dead”, I’m ready for fun again. Or, if not that, at least something different that shows real creativity and a world that’s not just full of gimmicky set ups, but something that seems plausible. It’s been a long time since the outbreak and we’ve heard nothing of this part of the world, so one would think that shouldn’t be too much to ask for.

On the Road Again

AMC

I may be on the fence still, but I can’t deny I didn’t enjoy this first outing. Sure it wasn’t wall to wall action and suspense, but it had plenty to keep me interested and feel more open to this world. I guess that is a perk of being in a different country and all. Here’s hoping that what irked me in this pilot is nothing more than temporary. I really want to like this franchise again, but if not, I’ll take it as a sign of some sort.

While the reintroduction of Norman Reedus’ Daryl Dixon was mysterious and excellent, not to mention slow enough to adjust to a somewhat different character, certain elements just stood out so much. They’re bringing about flashbacks to the original series’ missteps. I’m pretty certain my mind was open enough going in.

So, what stood out as issues?

No, not the kid, although he was irritating and will likely prove to be nothing more than a constant reminder of why he should be fed to a walker. I do still hope this was some kind of one-off mistake and not something I’ll truly come to loathe about this new series.

For me, sadly, the main issues are the religious prophecy bit and how an otherwise fun and exciting sequence was borne out of stupidity. Daryl Dixon isn’t stupid. Granted, neither were most of the characters in the original series and look how well that ended.

I would’ve thought a character like Daryl would know not to enter any place without checking it first. It wouldn’t have been too hard to do. We’ve seen countless people employ numerous tactics so as to not be overtaken by walkers, and yet, he couldn’t be bothered to do anything. Just walked in and called it good. I get he’s just adjusting to new everything, but again, he’s not stupid. Why would this be the time he’d choose to be a dum-dum? He put together a pack and took up a weapon and yet allowed himself to get surrounded. Granted, it didn’t seem to make much sense either, that barely any noise was made and suddenly the rest of the walkers were fully mobile and ready to bite. An otherwise fun sequence ruined by nonsensical decision making. I really hope this is accidental or I’ll only last this one season.

The next issue is that prophecy. I get why it came to be. Nuns retaining and/or transforming their religious beliefs in a dark, dark world makes sense. However, like many other films and series, it took on the feel of something out of place and laughable. While I didn’t laugh when hearing it explained, I certainly rolled my eyes and groaned loudly. Religion may not have been overly explored in the original series, but at least it never felt this silly. There was something natural to it. While it may be a slight driving force and hook for this series, if the writers aren’t careful with how it’s used, it’s going to become its own irritant rather quickly. If it isn’t already.

Fortunately, which is what I crave, there was a solid hook. Within all that mystery surrounding Daryl, we got a little glimpse of who’s responsible. The trouble he got into now has a face. Mind you, there’s even more questions, but it’s oddly refreshing. While it all centers around him, it doesn’t feel like it’s about him. He’s merely in the wrong place and trying hard to make friends. While it may be great to see Daryl Dixon once more, the driving factor will be how and why he’s in France. While I may dislike the clunky name, at least this series has many more directions to go and isn’t hindered by its own title.

Originally Aired: Sept. 10, 2023 on AMC and AMC+

Creator: David Zabel

Starring: Norman Reedus, Clémence Poésy, Louis Puech Scigliuzzi, Laïka Blanc-Francard, Anne Charrier, Romain Levi and Adam Nagaitis

Leave a comment