Signing Off

Thats-all-folks

“The time has come”, the Walrus said, “To talk of many things: of shoes–and ships–
and sealing-wax–of cabbages–and kings–and why the sea is boiling hot–and whether pigs have wings.”

-Lewis Carroll, “The Walrus and The Carpenter” from “Through the Looking-Glass”

I may not talk of cabbages and kings or why the sea is boiling hot and whether pigs have wings, but I most definitely have some things to say. The time has most definitely come. This is the final post.

@stevgor_

That’s where you can find me on Twitter and Instagram. It’s the fastest anything if you want to keep up with the conversations that I plan on continuing to have. Or, it’s just a great way to see and hear about the many other things I believe or encounter during any given day. While I love TV and film, they’re not the only things that get me excited and full of opinions.

So, now that I’ve given you that bit of information, it’s time to explain myself. I couldn’t forget about my dear readers, even if they come well after this piece has been published.

For starters, it’s been three years. Three years exactly since I started writing on WordPress. It even reminded me today that it’s been three years. So, while this is a bittersweet moment, it’s one well worth celebrating as well as learning that this decision was quite deliberate. I feel that goes without saying. I could’ve chosen to post this piece tomorrow, but somehow it didn’t feel right. I wouldn’t have been able to pull myself from here if I delayed too long. Waiting as long as I did was itself hard, so why make it harder? I like the symmetry. It’s perfect. That’s why I chose today.

But there’s still another reason for signing off today.

It’s quite simple really. It’s all about the numbers. Well, mostly. I started this, like most others, I’m sure, as an effort to put a voice out there. To start various conversations. Unfortunately, in order to do that, you have to do more than just publish a piece. You need an audience. Along the way, hopefully you can develop a voice of some sort. What kind of voice that is, well, I didn’t know. In some ways, I still don’t know. I’m somehow discovering what that is. Still, I aimed (am aiming) to get people talking about various aspects of what’s been released, is coming soon or is currently on air if it’s a TV series. The good and bad, the controversial, the whatever. If there’s an opinion, I’m willing to share it. Sadly, to bring it back to numbers, I failed in some ways to grow in this area. I still loved what I was producing, but the audience seemed to get smaller and smaller with each passing week, hell! really each month. So, when opportunity came knocking, in the form of another platform called Creators, which has a connection with a little site called MoviePilot, I knew I needed to test it out. So I did. I gave it a few months (now almost six months) to see what I could learn from using it. I learned a lot, but more importantly, there was a bigger opportunity for increased readership. It’s also, if you’ve been paying attention or just go back and look once you’ve finished here, why you’ll notice a late shift in the formats of my most recent pieces. This also brings me to why I stayed longer than most probably would’ve.

While I was learning to adapt and make my pieces more interesting and exciting to read, which I’m certain I should’ve done years ago, but never truly thought about it, I knew I couldn’t just cut off those who’ve been so loyal and helpful in keeping me going these past three years. I felt I needed to find a more fitting period to announce my departure. However, nothing seemed good enough. Again, symmetry. So, this is it. My departure. Surprise!

While this may be surprising to some (really the few who have some time to spare and can genuinely care enough), I’m hoping I still delivered. I’m hoping I delivered interesting content week in and week out. I’m hoping that I was able to be active enough (which has and will sadly always be a problem for me) to show that I care about my readers, and fellow writers. My ability to interact, which is probably a familiar area for most, has been spotty at best, but I tried. I’ve loved the interactions. Being able to agree, disagree, or see a new view was the point! It may not have been uberimpactful, but it was something I still got so excited about. I’d laugh out loud and practically jump out of my seat when others agreed or said something that was completely in line with my thinking. And sometimes, I’d just be eh. More neutral than anything, but still pleased an exchange was taking place. That’s one thing I think was the most interesting about doing this, I never truly, or even came close to, disagreeing with anyone. No one’s views ever bothered, annoyed or pissed me off. I guess that’s another type of win.

What won’t really be a win is what I’m going to do once I push publish. There will still be, but for how long I can’t say, people finding and responding to my content. If they interact, even with just a simple favorite, I’ll be wanting to automatically check it out. The numbers could still be of interest to me, too. So, what am I to do? What will I possibly do? Well, for a short while, at least, I’m sure, I’ll probably want to log back in and check things out. I don’t see that being too problematic, but at some point I doubt it’ll be a good idea long term. The numbers will rise and fall as they may. It will be weird regardless as I’ve been doing this for so long. It’s what I know. All in due time.

And if you forgot about this, as it was back at the beginning, you can always find me on Twitter and Instagram. Share your thoughts and I’m sure I’ll respond in some way. Let’s keep this conversation going, even if I’m not publishing here.

@stevgor_

Now that all that’s been said and taken care of, I hope I haven’t put you in too much of a sour mood. I still need you, my dear readers. I still want you to be my readers. Yes, with this move, it’ll require a wee bit more work from you, but that’s why simple, easy to use buttons exist. Mark me down as a favorite. It would still be worth it for the content for the way I’ve written things of late won’t change. I hope you’ll join me at my “new” home over at Creators.

777 posts later, not including this one, and this is where I leave you. It’s been fun, challenging and rewarding. For that, I say, thank you.

Thank you, dear readers.

Leave a Reply

