At First Glance: “Star Wars: The Last Jedi”

Better late than never. That’s what they say, and in this case, they’re right. Every other person in the world may have already declared their feelings about this new teaser trailer, but I appear to be a straggler, one of the few remaining holdouts. Well, like with this exciting teaser, my thoughts are finally debuting.

The upcoming Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures film “Star Wars: The Last Jedi” is shaping up to be one incredible sequel! Well, that’s at least my optimism speaking, but since this film seems to be in good hands with a single writer and directer in Rian Johnson, whom I still know little about but have at least heard of, it’s got me even more excited than I thought I could be. Plus, it’s everything that makes up this teaser. There’s so much in this trailer it’s hard to know where I should begin getting excited.

The Saga Continues

MV5BMTU1OTAzOTMxNV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMTg5MDIwMjI@._V1_SX1777_CR0,0,1777,744_AL_[1]

Where to start? That’s the question I’m still asking myself after thinking on it for a few minutes and then typing this out. I have no idea. It’s the downside to waiting a few days after the trailer initially debuted, but it’s also the hard part of not doing what everyone else has already done. This isn’t a news item. If it were, I’d be done typing already and could move on to the many other things I need to get done. It’s also not going to be, or at least that’s the hope, as it always is with a piece like this, something where I nitpick and obsess over 50 screenshots as if I were conducting some FBI investigation and were looking for much needed clues. No, this will be something else. But what?

I guess it’s all going to depend on what the focus is. There’s a lot I’m excited about in this teaser. So many thrilling images, but more importantly, questions being raised. It’s what’s no doubt been fueling various discussion boards (are those still a thing?), Facebook groups and Twitter accounts, among other things that take place online, that again, it’s a wonder I’m even bothering with this.

As far as this single two minute teaser is concerned, which is where I like to keep my focus, I’m excited about it all! There’s nothing in it that didn’t have me all kinds of giddy and thrilled to be watching once again. Perhaps this is exactly how I should approach this. Simply discussing that which has me thrilled for more, and confident that this film will deliver!

First off, there’s John Williams’ score! Whether it’s new for just this trailer or will be featured in some way in the film or has been put together from what he did in the previous film or sequels in the franchise, it doesn’t matter. It’s Williams’ recognizable score and because of this aspect, I know I’ll be in good hands with the final version of this film. My ears seriously perked up at just a tiny bit of “Rey’s Theme”!

As expected, it’s also the returning characters. I figured the main ones would show up, but it’s the how that surprised me. Daisy Ridley and Oscar Isaac, plus my favorite droid, BB-8, each return in pretty dramatic fashion! Ridley’s going through something, so there’s a question worth thinking about, and Isaac and BB-8 (how I love typing his name!) are running and encountering a big explosion! More questions! Whoa!! The late Carrie Fisher and John Boyega, however, each have a much more mysterious appearance. A welcome one, but one that fuels a lot of questions. As does Mark Hamill, who’ll finally get a chance to show us how much Luke Skywalker’s changed over the last 30 years, and what he plans on doing now that he’s being forced to confront the continuous looming threat that is the First Order

And then everything else, which is fueled by BIG action sequences and mysterious images and gorgeous set pieces, is story driven. The questions, including the one’s you’ve no doubt been asking yourself about the above character introductions, involve wondering where this story is headed. What’s the endgame? How do these mysterious pieces fit into this new film? What will they do to the overall mythology, much of which is still taking shape and adapting what we already knew? My favorite, how much time has passed? And so many more that I’m not even thinking about yet.

That’s how excited I am about this trailer, even after five times through. It’s also why focusing on what’s got me excited for this film’s release is better than over-analyzing every single image shown. For me, broad strokes are enough. It’s a teaser after all. I’ve been teased and I must say that for the few hours this will stay with me, before some other exciting film or TV series or trailer catches my eye, it’ll be enough. Since I never had doubts about this film, even about Johnson, I’m more than okay with what I’ve been given. My level of expectation has risen considerably, and I’m hating the fact that December is a little under (a day) eight months away.

Oh! And, yes, there’s Adam Driver’s Kylo Ren, but I feel his presence is pretty self explanatory. For now, we can rest just knowing that he’ll be back trying to destroy anyone who gets in his way of dominating the galaxy. Even that has me excited!

Expected Release Date: Dec. 15, 2017

Written and Directed: Rian Johnson

Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Domhnall Gleeson, anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Andy Serkis, Benicio Del Tor, Laura Dern and Kelly Marie Tran

One thought on “At First Glance: “Star Wars: The Last Jedi”

Leave a Reply

