‘Tis the Season: “2017 Critics’ Choice Awards: Winners”

Awards and top ten lists are everywhere! That could only mean one thing. It’s December and awards season is well under way! What’s not to like about it? All your favorite actors, directors, writers, etc. (it really depends on the awards show) gathering together, film’s you love and don’t know a thing about being recognized, and ceremonies, that are seldom truly that funny or warrant the excessive length, go on for far too long. It’s almost a laundry list of reason’s not to focus on awards shows. Huh. Okay.

This year’s event is hosted by T.J. Miller (“Silicon Valley”) and will have been broadcast on A&E. Last year saw the members of the Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) and the Broadcast Television Critics Association (BTCA), select some very exciting and surprising winners. Hopefully that’s exactly what we all get this year!

Now, like with years past, I’ll be watching and writing my reactions live. I’ll also be attempting to do some tweeting, but we’ll see. That’s already a lot of things to juggle, so we’ll see if that happens. It’s the best way I know to document what was said by the winners and comment on it, if I feel it needs to be. Some things are best done in the moment. So, if you’ve read this far, you’re ready to see what I thought of the 2017 Critics’ Choice Awards! Here’s hoping there’s more snarky commentary than there was for the nominations piece I did.

And the winners are:

Oh god. Some dreadful opening that Miller’s doing. Geez. But, when I think about what he did last year, it’s not that surprising.

Of course there’d be an Election and Russian hacking joke. I’ve got to say that it wasn’t that bad, but it’s early.

“A Chorus Line” tribute!! Brief but awesome! Can’t pass up a moment like that.

“Never thought of it that way. Talk about some angry birds.” Ahahha Too much!

Another election joke, but this time, featuring a reference about President-elect Donald Trump. HA! Should’ve seen that coming.

Okay, this wasn’t a bad opening monologue. I did enjoy most of the jokes.

Best Acting Ensemble

“Moonlight”

WOW!! This is sad, mostly on my part. I don’t fully know who’s in the cast, or who the actors are. I’ve seen select things of some of the actors, and that’s it. I guess, when it comes down to it, this win is a huge plus! I can keep getting excited for this film and will do my best to see it, whenever that is.

Best young Actor/Actress

Lucas Hedges – “Manchester by the Sea”

What can you say? No, really, what can you? If you haven’t seen it, very little. Just really be excited and raise your expectations. I’m thrilled to see what this young actor can do alongside all the veterans he appears with.

Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

Oh god. I seriously sometimes hate these scripted moments before they announce the nominees and winner. Dreadful.

Jane Krakowski – “Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt”

YAY! It’s just plain exciting. Krakowski did have better material this year.

Best supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

Louie Anderson – “Baskets”

Umm… Sure. I never watched it, which may or may not be a bad thing.

Best Sci-fi/Horror Movie

“Arrival”

And another reason to be excited for this film! I didn’t need it, but it helps.

Best Foreign Language Movie

“Elle”

This is exciting! I can’t wait to see this film.

Best Action Movie

“Hacksaw Ridge”

Best Actor in an Action Movie

Andrew Garfield – “Hacksaw Ridge”

This is an action film? Still not liking this, but it’s another few wins for this film, so I’m still confident I’m picking a good film to obsess over. Eventually I’ll see this film.

Best Actress in an Action Movie

Margot Robbie

What? Really? Okay.

Best Original Screenplay

Damien Chazelle – “La La Land” and Kenneth Longergan – “Manchester by the Sea”

Haven’t seen or read, so I’ll just have to trust the critics who voted.

Best Adapted Screenplay

Eric Heisserer – “Arrival”

Like with the above winners, I have to watch the film’s first,a Dan then read the PDF scripts, which are floating out there online. I’m sure each one will be incredible to read and just learn from. It’s why I love the screenplay categories.

Best Actor in a Movie Made for Televsion or Limited Series

Courtney B. Vance – “The People v O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story”

WOW! Seeing as I’ve seen so few of the things the actors were nominated for, I guess Vance was my choice to win. He really was phenomenal in this miniseries. Definitely deserving of this win!

Best Actress in a Movie Made for Television or Limited Series

Sarah Paulson – “The People v O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story”

Not a shocker at all! I think with the exception of one of the nominees, I’ve seen all the nominated work. Each one was incredible and I’m glad these programs and performances existed. Paulson was arguably the best, so it’s no surprise she won. It really isn’t.

Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

Thandie Newton – “Westworld”

WOW!! First time nominee and she wins! Well, at least this category. She does have one of the best characters on the show, so I’m thrilled for this win!

Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

John Lithgow – “The Crown”

I’m amazed. I’m also upset I still haven’t seen this series. It’s one I’ve been excited about for months! Here’s a great reason to get to watching it.

Best Cinematography

Linus Sandgren – “La La Land”

I think, for this area, I’ll do a blanket comment on these “La La Land” wins. Skip on down to Score!

Best Production Design

David Wasco and Sandy Reynolds-Wasco – “La La land”

Best Costume design

Madeline Fontaine – “Jackie”

Best Hair and makeup

“Jackie”

Not surprised by these two “Jackie” wins. These two aspects of the film look impeccable! This will definitely help me to get into the film, and I’ll no doubt enjoy every minute of it, even when it’s tragic.

Best Visual Effects

“The Jungle Book”

Eh. I need to see it still.

Best Editing

Tom Cross – “La La Land”

Best Score

Justin Hurwitz – “La La Land”

WOW!! Look at all those wins for “La La Land”!! I’ve been thrilled to see it for some time now, and this just boosts that level. I can’t believe it! Okay, in some ways I can, but that’s for another time. So excited and happy for the film and all who were part of making it.

EW Entertainer of the Year

Ryan Reynolds

I think I’m excited about this. I’m not sure. I’m ambivalent.

Best Actor in a Comedy Series

Donald Glover – “Atlanta”

I’ve actually never watched any of the nominated people or shows, so whatever. Whoever wins, wins! Glover won, and I guess that’s a great thing as I’ve only heard positive things about his show. Perhaps I’ll get around to it before the next season.

Best Actress in a Comedy Series

Kate McKinnon – “Saturday Night Live”

I’m not displeased, but I’m meh about it. I know she’s funny when given good material, but I can’t say squat about the other actresses as I’ve never watched their respective programs. This is what sucks about too many TV shows on the air.

Best Supporting Actor

Mahershala Ali – “Moonlight”

I’ll say this about the film, it’s climbing the name recognition ladder! This could be a huge things for later awards! I’m so thrilled for this little indie.

Best Animated Feature

“Zootopia”

I still haven’t seen this film, which is even sadder because it’s sitting on a shelf at my parents’ place, which is where my nephews live and I could easily borrow it. I’m a terrible person.

Best Actress in a Comedy

Meryl Streep – “Florence Foster Jenkins”

Another category where I haven’t seen many (pretty much any) of the nominees. I’m so disappointed with myself. Hopefully the film is really good, or I’ll be sad about this win.

Best Actor in a Comedy

Ryan Reynolds – “Deadpool”

I’m absolutely okay with this win! I loved the film and his character, and I really wasn’t expecting that. I’ve also not yet seen any of the other films nominated, so it was this film or none at all.

#SeeHer Award

Viola Davis

Look a surprise! It could Just be me, but I didn’t know this award was going to be happening. Davis, as was said during the presentation, is a great choice for this inaugural award! And Davis’ acceptance speech was inspiring too!

Best Supporting Actor in a Movie Made for Television or Limited Series

Sterling K. Brown – “The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story”

It’s another performance from this series, how is this a surprise? And as I can’t remember the other nominees, and they flashed by so quickly during the show, I don’t even know if I wanted Brown to win.

Best Supporting Actress in a Movie Made for Television or Limited Series

Regina King – “American Crime”

This woman. She amazes me. This season was phenomenal and she had another strong and complex character. But, like with Brown, I don’t know who else was nominated. Regardless, I’m excited for her win. She deserved it!

Best Guest Performer in a Comedy Series

Alec Baldwin – “Saturday Night Live”

Eh. I could go either way here. Yes I’ve like his portrayal of Trump, but I’m not sure who else was nominated. I’m really beginning to hate this approach to these awards.

Best Guest Performer in a Drama Series

Jeffrey Dean Morgan – “The Walking Dead”

Well deserved! While I feel Morgan needs more to make his character something truly memorable, he’s doing a good job so far and makes this season a bit better and standable than it is.

Best Song

“City of Stars” – “La La Land”

OHMYGOD!!! This is so EXCITING!! I can’t wait to hear this song, and all the others, in the film! I know it’s going to be a great experience.

Best Supporting Actress

Viola Davis – “Fences”

This is why I’m against this awards show being shown in the middle of the month! I’ve not even had the chance to not see this film. God! At least if I knew that it was because it wasn’t playing near me, or I didn’t have the time, I could live with that. But, no, it’s because it’s not even out yet. Damn it! Okay. Rant over. I’m thrilled Davis won and was even nominated, as I’m thrilled about all the other nominees. I can’t wait to watch all of these film and marvel at the performances of these talented women.

Best Movie Made for Television or Limited Series

“The People v O.J. Simpson: American Crime”

Was there any doubt?! I’ve seen most of the nominees and was truly blown away and engaged by this winner. It was that well done. I’ve even now, during Black Friday, succeeded in putting this series into my collection! That’s how much I loved this series! If you haven’t seen it, at least try it, and see how far you get.

Best Structured Reality Series

“Shark Tank”

Just skip to the bottom of the “Reality” sections.

Best Unstructured Reality Series

“Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown”

Best Reality Competition Series

“The Voice”

Best Reality Show Host

Anthony Bourdain – “Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown”

Best Talk Show

“The Late Late Show with James Corden”

I could care less about these categories. I don’t watch any of them. Reality programs have not really ever done anything for me. Usually tire me out.

Best Animated Series

“BoJack Horseman”

I’ve never seen this, and at this rate, I never will. It’s sad.

Best Director

Damien Chazelle – “La La Land”

I’m so thrilled!! I HAVE to see this film! That’s all I’ll say. I’m sure the other nominees did wonderful work too, so it really was a toss up on whom I wanted to win.

Best Comedy

“Deadpool”

Okay. I’m fine with this. Great and fun film. Yeah, that’s all.

Best Actress in a Drama Series

Evan Rachel Wood – “Westworld”

She may not be Tatiana Maslaney, but I can live with that! She did a great job in this first season of “Westworld”. Another fascinating character.

Best Actress

Natalie Portman – “Jackie”

I can’t be upset with Portman’s win here, it’s impossible. Yes I would’ve loved to have seen any of the other women win, but if it had gone that way, I would’ve loved to have seen Portman win. I’m just way too excited for each and every one of the nominated films. It’s why I’m once again so thrilled about this year’s films with captivating female characters.

Best Actor in a Drama Series

Bob Odenkirk – “Better Call Saul”

I’m not displeased, but I don’t have anything to say. Moving on!

Best Actor

Casey Affleck – “Manchester by the Sea”

Hello additional reason to be excited for this film! I can’t wait to see what all the critics have been talking about.

Best Drama Series

“Game of Thrones”

While the most recent season was a step up for me, I was really hoping another would take the prize! So many new ones deserved to win.

Best Comedy Series

“Silicon Valley”

Okay. Kind of surprising to me, but that’s because I’ve not seen it. Nor have I seen any of the other nominees. That speaks more to my feelings about comedies.

Best Picture

“La La Land”

OHMYGOD!!! For a moment there I truly thought some other film, any one of the nominated films, would win. I’m over the moon! For once, I don’t think I would’ve been disappointed with any winner. They all look amazing and I can’t wait to see them.

And that’s a wrap! It wasn’t a bad time, but certainly a long one. I wasn’t even aware that one awards show could get me even more excited for a whole lot of films. I truly hope the critics were right. Sometimes they are, sometimes they aren’t.

If you hadn’t taken the time to familiarize yourself with the majority of the film’s and television shows that not only won but were nominated, now’s a really good time to. See which ones you missed but want to catch. Or, as the case of film, see which one’s you want to see, as so many have yet to come out. You may just find your next favorite! I know I’ll find several new favorites.

Leave a Reply

