Short: “The Procedure (Short 2016)”

The short film. Never predictable and always, somehow, usually, quite fun. I guess it just depends on what type of short you’re watching. Knowing the genre will greatly determine the reaction and level of success, but even then, it’s not a sure thing. Sometimes you just need extra time past what the film allots.

The short film “The Procedure”, is effective and twisted enough, that you’ll have no choice but to question what you just saw.

This short stars Christian Palmer (“Absolutely Anything”, “Cavalier (Short 2013)”) and Frank Mosley (“Collective: Unconscious”, “Americana”).

The film was written and directed by Calvin Lee Reeder (“The Bulb (Short 2016)”, “The Rambler”).

The film originally debuted on Nov. 30, 2016 on Vimeo. Previously it opened at various film festivals including the Sundance Film Festival where it was nominated for two awards and won one for Short Film Jury Prize.

I guess this short proves why it’s fun to stumble upon these types of films. You never truly know what you’re going to get. Sometimes it’s amazing, and you wish there were more, and other times it just doesn’t come close to being good. However, apparently, there are those that are just different. They have to be seen. Telling people about it, beyond the fact that it exists at all, isn’t really going to be that helpful.

Let’s see how far I get.

What did I just watch?

That’s the driving question, and even now, about a half hour after having watched it, (twice actually), I still can’t figure it out. I truly think this film will receive various reactions, depending on who’s watching, but even then, there’s still a lot that can be discussed. A short film has never baffled me this much.

What I can say definitively is, it’s about the setup.

That’s it.

It’s that simple.

If it weren’t for the simple approach, not to mention small budget and nature of this film, I don’t think Reeder could’ve pulled this off. It would’ve just been a disaster. He exhibited extreme control and knew, with such a limited amount of time, what needed to be done to get any viewer in the right mindset. I must admit, this was effective each time I watched. A plus, or it’s just me thinking too much on it, I found myself feeling anxious, or something, but afterwards. Something just had me coming down like one would after a particular intense sequence in a thriller. Think “10 Cloverfield Lane”. I’ll definitely be pondering this short for a while longer. I guess that’s my reward for sitting through this. I wonder what other people will experience?

Short films, when it comes down to it, are truly a new area for me. I’ve seen so few and can still be amazed by what is accomplished. Who knew so many creative people could be that good and produce such daring and original work? As short films come in and out each month of any given year, I guess the only thing to do now is share it.

From me to you. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

