At First Glance: “Shut In”

Crafting a worth while thriller isn’t easy. There are so many elements that have to be constructed just right, always making sure not to eclipse one for another. It’s not a guarantee, but a thriller can have all of what audiences want and still be as effective as intended.

The upcoming EuropaCorp film “Shut In”, looks like a promising film, and hopefully one that scares audiences a lot.

This psychological thriller stars Naomi Watts (upcoming “The Bleeder”, “Sea of Trees”), Oliver Platt (upcoming episodes and film “Chicago Med”, “Rules Don’t Apply”), Charlie Heaton (“Stranger Things”, “Rise of the Footsoldier Part II”), David Cubitt (upcoming episodes “Van Helsing”, “Bates Motel”), and Jacob Tremblay (upcoming “Before I Wake”, “The Last Man on Earth”).

The film is directed by Farren Blackburn (“The Interceptor”, “Daredevil (2015 TV series)”) and written by Christina Hodson.

The film is expected to open on Nov. 11, 2016.
I don’t know what took me so long to get to this. I’ve known about this film for some time, but just allowed so many other films and TV shows to get ahead of it. Sometimes prioritizing is just not possible. But, I must say, my stupidity was very much rewarded. I hope that all of this excitement isn’t for nothing. I’ve been wrong before about thrillers and horror films that had very promising trailers.

First and foremost it seems that genuine scares are being promised. In the two times that I saw the trailer, I’d always ended up feeling pretty disturbed. Fear, in under three minutes, had managed to start working its way in. I say this often, so I’ll say it agin, for a trailer to get to me that quickly, says a lot. And that’s what I’m hoping for. Already I’m able to see, not just how important it is for this film to build suspense and fear, but if it was written well enough, then that’s exactly what will happen. I’m excited to see if this will in fact be the case, even though I know a few jump scares will also be part of the mix.

Part of what’s driving this fear and uncertainty, and hopefully will make for a compelling and somewhat scary film, is the story. Watts’ character is a widow and her kid is in a coma. She’s coping as best she can, all the while still performing her duties as a child psychologist. And from there we also get another facet into her current state of mind. She’s having trouble sleeping. So, couple all these tidbits together, and you’ve got yourself a nice setup for a potentially unreliable narrator. Is she just exhausted and grieving, plus all the other problems that occur upon taking on a new client, or is this really happening? Are there in fact ghosts or some other malevolent forces terrorizing Watts? Even that question I can’t begin to answer, which is good, more incentive to want to see it.

And just in case you didn’t now have enough reason to wanna check it out, if not in theaters then on DVD, there are the actors. For me, it’s Watts, Tremblay, Cubitt, and Platt. I’ve seen them in enough stuff, or in the case of Tremblay, just can’t wait to see what he takes on next. As of right now, I don’t think any of these actors are bad for this film, which is only making me hope this film works out the way it’s supposed to.

While a good thriller is hard to come by, keeping tabs on those that certainly seem like they’ll deliver isn’t. Nor is it tough too do. Is it possibly a waste of time and energy? Sure. But if we thought like that all the time, there’d be no point of even trying to find new films. You’d just be dead set that a given one, particularly in a genre that only puts out bad films, isn’t even worth a glimpse. If that’s the case, I’m not sure which would be worse.

Leave a Reply

