At First Glance: “The Dressmaker”

Some adaptations and imports are of the variety you didn’t know you needed. They’re so refreshing, that regardless of what others think, you’ll watch it as soon as possible. It’s one of the troubles with films being made in outside of the U.S. The ones you really want to see, the ones that should be getting made by Hollywood, are only available in other countries and because of other countries.

The upcoming Amazon Studios and Broad Green Pictures film “The Dressmaker”, looks like an absolute blast, that could also be quite grounded in human drama.

This comedy drama stars Kate Winslet (upcoming “Collateral Beauty”, “Triple 9”), Judy Davis (“Salting the Battlefield”, “The Young and Prodigious T.S. Spivet”), Liam Hemsworth (“The Duel”, “Independence Day: Resurgence”), and Hugo Weaving (upcoming “Hacksaw Ridge”, “Strangerland”).

The film is written and directed by Jocelyn Moorhouse (“A Thousand Acres”, “Unconditional Love”). It is based on the novel of the same name by Rosalie Ham.

The film is expected to open on Sept. 23, 2016 in a limited release.
This may be a surprise (sort of), but it’s one that I’m absolutely excited about! When the film’s original trailer debuted sometime last year, I somehow managed to avoid watching it. I knew it wasn’t for the US, and later just got sadder that no company had bought the rights for its release in the States, but I guess I had hope. So, I waited. And now we’re here. With a brand new US trailer! I really hope I’m not wrong in thinking this film will be good. I’ve only heard good things about it, but that doesn’t always pan out. Maybe I just need to keep thinking positively, and avoid any reviews from critics, as that’ll probably be the only way I can go into this film and come out not feeling it was all for nothing.
I’m excited for this film! It just looks like all sorts of fun, for everyone!

The trailer certainly offers up a nice blend of comedy, drama, and romance. I must say I watched the trailer twice, and each time I couldn’t help but laugh at some of the things going on. That being said, I’m hoping it’s not because they were stupid. A trailer can be misleading, we know that, so what may be funny in the trailer may not be so in the finished film. I’m going to stick with optimism, so no, it’s not the trailer misleading me. This film is going to be funny.

I’m also confident that there will be something interesting and deep going on for all the characters. It’s wonderfully cast, for starters, but will there be enough for them. Winslet may be the star, and clearly there’s a lot following her, but will it be shaped in such a way for me to care? Are these town people just gossips, who get what they deserve? How will these other character’s lives impact Winslet? Will they be more than just characters who happened to be changed by Winslet’s beautiful garments?

A big plus for me, is that Davis is finally in something I want to really see! I’ve been a fan of hers for some time now, but too often she’s not in something I want to see, or simply I don’t get the chance to see it. I think, like with Winslet, and Sarah Snook (“Steve Jobs”, “The Beautiful Lie”), she’s got a great role here. Again, that blend this film will have is going to be perfect for her character. Plus, like with any of these actors, if you give them good material, they’ll turn out amazing work.

In so many ways, the dresses themselves are worth getting excited about. Hell, all of the costumes! Period films are good for that. In this case, the dresses that Winslet wears and makes are all characters in a way. These dresses certainly tell you a lot about who Winslet’s character is and allows for her character to take charge of her beauty, which radiates when she walks in the room, or stand on a field. That really was a funny scene.

For some time now I’ve been a fan of the many films that come from other countries. Some are traditional “foreign” films, complete with subtitles, and others are just made and distributed first in other countries. I can’t say that every one is a winner, but when I start comparing them to most of what’s made here in the U.S., it’s all pretty damn stellar to me. Top notch! The worst part, which I’m once again hating, is that I have to wait so damn long. If only these types of films could just fly under the radar, and then randomly pop up. Then, I’d be one happy camper. Instead, I must wait for months, and then, when the film finally has a U.S. distributor, I have to wait some more. I’m really getting tired of waiting. Hopefully I still want to see it by the time it opens, or hits Redbox or Netflix, whichever comes first.

Leave a Reply

