Pilot: “Preacher”

When it comes to a new show, sometimes all you can do is go into it knowing as little as possible. No expectations, no hopes, nothing. You’ll either like it or you won’t. Hopefully, you like it enough and you’ll want to check out the next episode. Maybe by then you’ll know if you want to stick around for the whole season.

The Sony Pictures Television series “Preacher”, is one strange and exciting series, but one that seems it’s going to be just as character driven as you deserve.

This supernatural drama series stars Dominic Cooper (upcoming “Warcraft”, “Agent Carter”), Joseph Gilgun (upcoming “The Infiltrator”, “The Last Witch Hunter”), Ruth Negga (upcoming films “Warcraft”, “Loving”), Lucy Griffiths (“Uncanny”, “Home for Christmas”), W. Earl Brown (upcoming “Spaceman”, “Archer”), Tom Brooke (upcoming “The Dresser”, “Cradle to Grave”), Anatol Yusef (“Bastille Day”, “Boardwalk Empire”), and Ian Colletti (“Blue Bloods”, “Rake (US series)”).

The series was developed by Seth Rogan (upcoming “Sausage Party”, “Neighbors 2: Sorority Rising”), Evan Goldberg (upcoming “Sausage Party”, “Neighbors 2: Sorority Rising”), and Sam Catlin (“Rake (US series)”, “Breaking Bad”). The series is based on the graphic novel of the same name by Garth Ennis and Steve Dillon.

The series premiered on May 22, 2016 on AMC.

I honestly have no idea why it is I wanted to watch this. I knew nothing about it prior to the trailer, except that it was going to be made, and after that I hadn’t really taken the time to seek out any of the marketing. It wasn’t until I was watching an actual TV channel, and saw a TV spot for this, that I felt I really wanted to see this new show. Even after having seen it, I’m still not sure what to think. It feels so far out there, that maybe it’s not something for me. Sadly I’ll have to wait about two weeks before the next episode, but I’ll manage somehow. The upside with this show, I like the cast and it only has another nine episodes for this season. That’s not bad. I may just have to stick it out regardless and decide afterwards.

Since I can’t fully figure out what I think of this show, except how weird it is, I’ll talk a bit about what I liked about it. The things that will draw me back for episode two! I mean, the fact that I liked it enough to want to check out the next episode must mean something.

For starters, I was surprised by how character driven this episode proved to be. While Cooper was part of a fun and awesome fight sequence, it didn’t come for some time. There were so many moments that simply introduced you to the town and the people, and then told you about the main cast of characters, but it went further. You got some very good character drama and insight which pushed everything forward and told you about the character’s pasts, all in a pretty organic way. It’ll definitely be interesting to see if they keep this up, as I think it’ll help make this show so much more worth it. All the bloody aspects fans and audiences expect will be there, plus fun and action, but you’ll get enough moments that allow you to care about the characters. It’s an easy thing to overlook, and now when I think on it, I’m not surprised this was on display in this episode. This network has really become known for character driven programs. I shouldn’t have doubted this.

I knew the characters were going to be weird, but I wasn’t fully prepared for just how weird they would be. There’s a vampire in this, but no slayer named Buffy. Plus the character named Arseface. Cooper’s character was pretty weird too, but he was definitely the most normal of the bunch. I’m interested to see how everyone interacts with one another and how they respond to the truth about them, which will no doubt happen. As of right now, my favorite character has got to be Negga’s Tulip O’Hare! I mean come on! Her introduction was just amazing! It was funny, and showed off what a bad ass she is. She can certainly handle herself!

One moment in her awesome introduction that I liked a lot was when Negga’s says, “Who likes arts and crafts?” This comes after she’s apparently spotted some items needed for making explosives. It really showed me how the writers wanted to incorporate humor and comedy into this series too. A difficult task, but I’m confident they’ll manage each week.

While I loved all those things, and enjoyed the supernatural entity, that caused mass hysteria to many churchgoers, this pilot still seemed familiar. In a lot of ways it was a standard pilot, but it wasn’t. You really got thrown into this crazy world and you met the people, plus the creature that is going to be causing problems, I assume. Something like that, and it’s a lot to take in. And even after all is said and done, it’s still made me feel like it was worth it. Let’s hope I’m not wrong, as I may never get a lot of these crazy images out of my head.

Leave a Reply

