Bits and Pieces of Cable


Upfronts Week may have officially ended, but that doesn’t mean there aren’t some things to talk about. The broadcast networks may be the main focus, but they aren’t the only networks with content to showcase. Cable networks, the few that do debut new shows during this time, are constantly trying to get ahead of broadcast, and every now and then they make it worth it.

I think I feel surprised by this year’s cable offerings. It feels like there’s more this year, but I can’t recall and don’t really want to go back and search. Is that strange given that I’m taking the time to do this, and have done many others? Maybe, but it really doesn’t matter. What does is whether or not these networks are truly worth tuning into? In the past they’ve delivered, but just on what I vaguely know already about these shows, that may not be the case this time. For those of you who don’t know, let me fill in a bit of trivia before I throw out my opinions. E! And USA each had their debuts when NBC did, as they’re all owned by the same company NBCUniversal. This year, for some reason, it was decided that one big thing was better this year. And whether or not it was, it certainly makes it easier to keep track of them all.

TNT

“Will”

I don’t know if I was expecting anything exceptional or worthwhile, but I certainly wasn’t expecting this. I literally wrote, “What the hell?” As the trailer went along it just got weirder and weirder. Too weird for my tastes. The contemporary music didn’t help at all as it was just off putting and made the whole thing even stranger. In the end, I came up with the feeling that this new series looked dreadful Not at all interesting. So, I’m going to SKIP!! I also think it’ll be cancelled.

E! Entertainment

“The Arrangement”

John Ross Ewing!! Michael Vaughn!! Both on a new TV show?! Cool! Well, it may be. I can’t at all tell if this show is worth it, nor can I tell you what this is about based solely on the trailer. If it weren’t for the summary I read prior to seeing the trailer, I’d be completely lost. I guess, on the somewhat plus side, it looks interesting enough to wanna check out. I’m thinking, also given the network it’ll be on, it’s going to be more soapy fun, much like the other series on the network, “The Royals”. As it’s been on for two seasons already, I don’t think that approach is completely wrong. Mind you, when I do watch it, if I get the chance, I may be proven wrong. At least I have some decent incentive to at least watch the pilot. I really could be surprised as I feel there’s a lot up in the air with this one.

USA Network

“Shooter”

Just when I thought there couldn’t be any more film adaptation TV series, or whatever the help people want to call them, out trots USA, a network that I feel has made major strides for quality and unique programming. This goes in absolute contradiction it both of those feelings. At first I thought it was another police procedural, but then the trailer kept going and I realized it was another thing altogether. This should’ve been the most interesting bit about this trailer, but somehow I just got irritated by it. It screams open and closed plot, with exciting twists and turns along the way, but not worthy of another season. Also, it’s probably going to be predictable. However, there was something else that made it look worse. I just didn’t find anything at all worth caring about. I wasn’t interested in any character, and overall I was bored. I just can’t even get myself to wanna think about seeing the pilot.

“Falling Water”

Now this is a trailer that has me interested. The worst part is there doesn’t seem to be a clear idea as to what the overall story is. There’s something about dreams and three strangers, but after that, I’m not sure. I get that they’re dreaming about the same thing, but what is it? After a few other things are detailed, the images and action just moved so quickly, that it all felt random. Fortunately, for me mostly, there was enough eerie and supernatural occurrences to get me quite interested. In this case, I get the added plus of recognizing two of the principal actors. The eerie factor and actors is enough to tune in at least once and see if it makes more sense, and captivates me overall.

While various cable networks have been growing substantial reputations for the quality of programming aired, some are still struggling to keep things on the air. Sure a show may get more than one seasons, but, for most, of late, it’s two and done. After that, it’s only entertaining programming, but not necessarily good or thought provoking entertainment. This is good or bad depending on who you ask. Will these new offerings hold up to the long built standard or running theme these networks have been trying to build? Eh. It could go either way.

Leave a Reply

