Pilot: “Hunters”


When it comes to a new show, sometimes you don’t need much to give it a try. But, sure, if you throw in fun sequences of suspense, and decent character drama, I may be more inclined to pay attention to what’s being presented to me. I mean, creature effects and violence will only get you so far.

The new Universal Cable Productions series “Hunters”, is a creepy new thriller that has me hooked with its complex creatures that are plaguing the world.

This drama series stars Nathan Philips (“These Final Hours (Short 2015)”, “The Bridge”), Britne Oldford (“How He Fell in Love”, “The Flash”), Mark Coles Smith (“Pawno”, “Airlock”), Lewis Fitz-Gerald (“Truth”, “Winter”), Laura Gordon (“Winners & Losers”, “Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries”), Shannon Berry (“Run (Short 2013)”), Gareth Davies (“The Daughter”, “The Elegant Gentleman’s Guide to Knife Fighting”), Sarah Peirs (“The Shannara Chronicles”, “The hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies”), Edwina Wren (“Childhood’s End”, “Turkey Shoot”), and Julian McMahon (“Childhood’s End”, “You’re Not You”).

The series was created by Natalie Chaidez (“12 Monkeys (TV series)”, “The Client List (TV series)”). It is based on the novel “Alien Hunter” by Whitley Strieber.

The series began airing on April 11, 2016 on SyFy.

Somehow, probably because I watch way too much SyFy programming and original movies, I learned about this show. The marketing was good. Constantly showing the creepy alien creatures, or whatever they are, and enticing me with the fact that a producer I like is producing the series. That producer, for those of you who don’t know, is Gale Anne Hurd (“The Walking Dead”, “The Terminator”). Need I say more about her? For me, that’s all I really need to know, especially as the marketing didn’t reveal much about the series. Just enough to be interested in the first episode. And so we find ourselves here.

Moving forward.

Probably the best thing of this pilot are the creatures. They’re all creepy, and have a decent amount thought out on what they are and how they hide themselves. There’s the clicking noises and the special abilities they each process which makes them dangerous, and the fact that apparently McMahon is their leader, which is frightening on its own. He’s played numerous villains and that’s what made me a bit more interested when I saw him. He just brings creepy, even when he’s not trying to. It’s perfect. One good thing about this episode is there’s an alien autopsy and you get to see what they look like. Gross, yet fascinating all at once.

Okay, I can’t do this. I realized as I was sitting here writing this, with “Archer” on in the background, that I can’t keep writing this. I just don’t remember much about the pilot. Even consulting my notes again, which I’m so glad I have, although they’re not doing as much as they usually do, I can’t think of anything to say about this. There apparently wasn’t much worth remembering. For the life of me I can’t even figure out how I’m caught up on the season right now. I just know that I am. Maybe that’s what this show is going to be. Fun and creepy, with occasional action sequences that interest me. I don’t hate this show, but somehow this pilot isn’t memorable.

So, to quickly wrap this up, there were only a few other things I liked as this was really a standard pilot. The action was fun, the characters were introduced and you’re given enough to like the main ones, and wonder about the rest. The rest of this episode, and the series it seems, is going to be like a police procedural. They hunt down these creatures. Other things too, which tie back to how Philips gets involved, but that won’t be revealed until much later. Mystery is also something that you can use to entice me with a new show. And that’s exactly what it’s done. It certainly can’t be the best thing out there, as it’s on SyFy, but it can at least be entertaining enough to warrant wasting an hour each Monday. And right now, that seems to be exactly what it’s doing.

I like watching a lot of different shows. My standard is all over the place, and that itself could be a problem from time to time, but as long as I’m enjoying the show, I’m okay with that. This one, upon a bit more reflection, may just be fun in the moment. I honestly can’t even recall how the show got from episode one to episode three. Like, what were the plot details? What connects these events? I feel like this could be a warning sign I’ll continue to ignore for the next several weeks, and only realize my mistake after. Geez, thinking further, I feel like I just figured out and wrote about why people shouldn’t bother watching this show. Hmm… If that’s the case, fine. So be it. That’s why we’re here. Make of this what you will.

One thought on “Pilot: “Hunters”

Leave a Reply

