On Second Thought: “Truth”

  
This series wouldn’t be complete without including this film and the scandal it depicts! Time for another reblog! And besides, who doesn’t love talking about films with Cate Blanchett?

The Sony Pictures Classics film “Truth”, is still an incredibly engaging film about the importance of investigative journalism and how a certain political climate can distract from the important issues being discussed.

Interestingly enough, mainly as I was visiting home when my mother rented the film, I got the chance to watch the film again. And I loved it! It hasn’t gotten old yet, but I don’t want to push it and just assume that that will never happen. Anyway. It was great to get to see this film again and revisit this particularly sad time in journalism history. I found, after rereading my original post, that I still agree with all that I wrote. When reading it I suddenly felt everything that I did and understood how I came to these views. I’m certainly glad, once more, that I found and saw this film! While I may not have linked to the articles I referenced, but with a little help from Google, you too could find out from where I got the information! It isn’t just my word being presented. I did, funnily enough, find a few mistakes, too. Ones I should’ve caught beforehand. But that’s not important now.

Also, this piece more or less covers all the aspects I would’ve covered if I were writing this piece today. In some ways, I’d been preparing for this series before I even knew I was going to do it. Well, now that I’ve held you up long enough, go have a look at what I thought about the film adaptation of Mary Mapes and Dan Rather’s scandal over their Bush Guard story at CBS in 2004, which effectively ended both of their careers.

Past, Present, Future in TV and Film


Films about journalism are seldom ever about a positive moment in history. Most are about some scandal that shook the journalism world in some way. These films about scandal, are usually about just that, and nothing more. They’re negative views as they should be. So, when you get a film that looks at more than just the ugliness, you’re bound to find a film that does so much more than entertain.

View original post 2,664 more words

Leave a Reply

