Short: “Ticky Tacky”


Short films seem to come out of nowhere. But what draws you in? What makes you want to watch it? Sometimes it’s as simple as the fact it’s an actor’s birthday, and that actor happens to be one you like.

The A Saboteur and Last Pictures short film “Ticky Tacky”, is definitely my favorite short film, of the few I’ve seen. It’s just so perfect.

This comedy short stars Oscar Isaac (upcoming “X-Men: Apocalypse”, “Star Wars: The Force Awakens”), Tim Rock (“#lakehollywood (Short 2014)”, “House of Lies”), Erika Rankin (“The Millers”, “House of Lies”), Helen Rogers (“All Hallows’ Eve 2”, “Body”), and Julian Shatkin (“Like Sunday, Like Rain”, “Lullaby”).

The short film was written and directed by Brian Petsos (“Wasted Space: The Mark Rantan Story (Short 2010)”, “Belly Flop (Short 2009)”).

The short debuted online on Dec. 3, 2015. Prior to that the film was screened at numerous festivals starting in June of 2014.

I stumbled upon this short film. I really did. I wasn’t looking for it, but there it was. In my Facebook feed. Gotta love the FB feed. Well, sometimes. Anyway. I discovered the short in some article about it, as apparently today is Isaac’s birthday. Happy Birthday to him. I couldn’t wait to watch it, as I’m constantly amazed at the work he does. And I’m glad I did! Another phenomenal performance that I actually wish had gone on longer. Oh well, I’ll enjoy it while I can. I’m also going to enjoy that this is my first post for the new series on Short Films. I have written about two other short films, but they were categorized differently. It’s time for a new beginning, in a way.

Carry on!

Everything about this that I loved was mostly because of Isaac. His character, was absolutely amazing to watch! So eccentric and a bit over the top, but that’s also where the comedy came from. It was just who the character was. Later as the story plays out, his reactions to the truth, make things even more strange and wonderful to watch. It’s a twisted comedy that I don’t think I’ve seen before, in any form.

Apart from Isaac, some of the brilliance lies in the simplicity of this story. Isaac is a powerful man, and he learns about a betrayal. So, he takes matters into his own hands, and it’s all quite funny. From beginning to end. For me, as I love them, the fact that this was shot in a massive library was incredible! So many books! I just loved it. Somehow it made it all the more atmospheric. It brought and told so much!

Let’s see, what else? I really don’t want to spoil anything, not even a tad, not that there’s much to spoil, but now I’m stuck. It’s truly got me appreciating, somehow, short films.

Short films are still growing on me. If they’re not those cute ones seen before Disney films, which are impossible to not love, then I’ve probably never seen them. So, stumbling on another one and loving it, has me so excited! I can now spend even more time with films because I wasn’t already. And, if I choose wisely, I’ll enjoy each and every one.

Leave a Reply

