At First Glance: “Hello, My Name Is Doris”

When it come to comedy films you’ve pretty much seen it all. More than you’d care to in some cases. However, every now and then, you get a film with a story that’s so unique, it actually gives you hope for the state of films in the comedy genre. It’s that refreshing and fun.

The upcoming Roadside Attractions film “Hello, My Name Is Doris”, is the type of quirky comedy the world needs more of!

This comedy film stars Sally Field (“The Amazing Spider-Man 2”, “Lincoln”), Max Greenfield (upcoming “Ice Age: Collision Course”, “New Girl”), Beth Behrs (“2 Broke Girls”, “Judy Greer is the Best Friend (Short 2014)”), Wendi McLendon-Covey (“The Goldbergs”, “Mike Tyson Mysteries”), Stephen Root (upcoming “Mike and Dave Need Wedding Dates”, “Gravity Falls”), Elizabeth Reaser (upcoming Ouija 2”, “One and Two”), Isabella Acres (“Sofia the First”, “Glitch”), Natasha Lyonne (upcoming season “Orange is the New Black”, “Portlandia”), Tyne Daly (“Modern Family”, “Burn Notice”), and Peter Gallagher (upcoming episodes “Law & Order: SVU”, “Togetherness”).

The film is directed by Michael Showalter (upcoming episode “Grace & Frankie”, “Love“”) and written by Laura Terruso (“Bum Future (Short 2013)”, “Doris & the Intern (Short 2012)”) and Showalter (“Children’s Hospital”, “Wet Hot American Summer: First Day of Camp”).

The film is set to open on March 11, 2016 in New York and Los Angeles and in select cities on March 18.
  
Okay. So I wasn’t expecting what I got. I hadn’t, to my knowledge, actually heard of this film until today. Sad. If I did, it was ages ago and who knows what I thought? It’s sad that Field isn’t in more films, whatever the reason, but now that I’ve discovered this film, I’m once again excited for a project she’s in. Here’s hoping it’s worth it and that this film serves as another reason why there need to be more films with female leads and films for the older actors that still crave work. They don’t only need to play the grandparent or older person without seeming to have a true purpose in the film or television show.

How to describe this first trailer? I don’t know. I really don’t know.

I’ve seen the trailer now three or four times, and each time I just got more and more excited about the film and the characters within the film. Every single character is a breath of fresh air!! Of course, Field, right now, is the true standout! I love, Doris!! She’s the right amount of eccentric, and sensible, calm, put together, I don’t even think this is a good way to describe her. Regardless, she’s amazing!! What a character! I do, however, expect to fully love all the others, as they too bring about a certain energy and quirkiness that a lot of good comedy films are lacking. It’ll certainly lend itself better when trying to understand the characters and for giving audiences a background on them, as well as just liking or loving them.

For me, the next biggest thing I love about this trailer and film is the story. It is definitely what makes this film unique. You know, as it should. My immediate thought upon seeing this trailer was that it’d have the charm and fun feeling that “Enough Said” has. I fell in love with that film the moment I watched it and could understand why it got such positive feedback. This film will be as fun, if not more, as that one. It will also have some incredible chemistry between Field and Greenfield. I can’t wait to see that, and all the other natural chemistry from the other actors.

In some ways, the story doesn’t seem all that original, but at the same time, it is, because of how Terruso and Showalter have handled it. Already I’m admiring the free spirited nature of Field and Daly, as well as the way Field just navigates this new world she finds herself in. I think this journey that Field’s going to be going on will be doing far more than just entertaining those that choose to watch it for themselves. I like “13 Going on 30” enough, that I believe that same kind of experience can be had here, which itself is refreshing as it allows me to go on a different kind of journey of exploration.

Comedy films come out each year, but only seem to use the same tropes and mechanics that it’s almost not worth it. Fortunately, there’s that rare breed of storyteller that wants to make you laugh and tell a great original story. The fact that these storytellers want to make it centered around someone that isn’t a hot up and coming twenty-something, is incredible! In my experience with comedies, some of the better ones have involved those with characters that are older and partaking in life with a renewed energy. It could also be that the writers behind these films simply know how to write and create memorable characters, and give them purpose beyond just being older and wise. Here’s hoping this adds to the trend I saw started last year with films staring women, particularly older women.

One of the many pics of Field’s character that sums her up in an instant and makes her so lovable!
  

Leave a Reply

