‘Tis the Season: “2016 Academy Awards Winners: Predictions”

  
The time has come, and no, this isn’t involving that damn walrus. The time has come to reveal my predictions for the final major awards show in this year’s awards season. It was no easy task. This year had so many films, many, of all sorts, overlooked, and we still got so many good ones to choose from. But, how do you pick when you like all the nominees and wouldn’t mind seeing any of them win?

If I ever figure out how to answer that question, I’ll let you know. For now, let’s focus on the films that I chose as winners. It was a long hour of back and forth, back and forth, and even now I’m not certain of the choices. This year is really up in the air. I don’t even want to think that one of the people nominated, that we all expect to win, won’t actually win. That would make for one crazy night! I don’t know if I could do crazy this year.

What I can do, before things drag on more, is present you with my predictions of winners for this year’s Academy Awards.

Best Picture

“The Revenant”

Best Director

Alejandro G. Inarritu- “The Revenant”

Best Actor

Leonardo DiCaprio- “The Revenant”

Best Actress

Brie Larson- “Room”

Best Supporting Actor

Sylvester Stallone- “Creed”

Best Supporting Actress

Alicia Vikander- “The Danish Girl”

Best Original Screenplay

Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy- “Spotlight”

Best Adapted Screenplay

Charles Randolph and Adam McKay- “The Big Short”

Best Cinematography

Emmanuel Lubezki- “The Revenant”

Best Costume Design

Sandy Powell- “Cinderella”

Best Film Editng

Margaret Sixel- “Mad Max: Fury Road”

Best Makeup & Hairstyling

Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega, and Damian Martin- “Mad Max: Fury Road”

Best Production Design

Colin Gibson and Lisa Thompson- “Mad Max: Fury Road”

Best Original Score

Ennio Morricone- “The Hateful Eight”

Best Original Song

Diane Warren and Lady Gaga- “Til It Happens to You” from “The Hunting Ground”

Best Sound Editing

Martin Hernandez and Lon Bender- “The Revenant”

Best Sound Mixing

Jon Taylor, Fran A. Montano, Randy Thom, and Chris Duesterdiek- “The Revenant”

Best Visual Effects

Roger Guyett, Pat Tubach, Neal Scanlan, and Chris Corbould- “Star Wars: The Force Awakens”

Best Animated Feature Film

“Inside Out”

Best Documentary Film

“Amy”

Best Foreign Language Film

“Son of Saul”- Hungary

Best Animated Short Film

“Sanjay’s Super Team”

Best Documentary Short

“Body Team 12”

Best Live Action Short

“Shok”

I’ve just finished writing this, and had a lot of time to think on these, and I’m still not sure I like all my choices. It was just so damn hard to stick with one, even if I’d whittled it down to just a few. The process, wasn’t simply because I liked a film or a performance, or something else. It was that and what really stands out the most as the likely winner. That aspect is also approached through some guessing and research, which doesn’t truly mean a whole lot as the respective branches could vote an entirely different way. Maybe if I just stop thinking about this. I did the work, which was tough, don’t I deserve a break until Sunday? On that day I’ll be a basket case as is, I might as well save my energy.

What are your predictions? Have you made any? Will you beat me this year? Will I do better than last year, where I seemed to do a bit worse than before? So many questions!

Leave a Reply

