‘Tis the Season: “2016 Independent Spirit Awards Winners: Predictions”

  
I almost forgot that the end of awards season is finally upon us. And with that, last predictions for the awards ceremonies I actually care a lot about. While some were left out, as usual, there’s still a lot of great nominees. Making it difficult to pick a winner.

I’ve never really had predictions for this awards show, but I’ve watched it a few times or read up on the winners and been excited by them. Here’s hoping I made some good choices. Seeing as this awards show doesn’t have a lot of categories, there’s a good chance, I can get each one right. At the very least, I can have more right than with the Oscars and have a starting point for next year.

So, without further ado, my predictions for the winners of the 2016 Independent Spirit Awards!

Best Picture

“Spotlight”

Best Director

Tom McCarthy- “Spotlight”

Best Actor

Jason Segal- “The End of the Tour”

Best Actress

Brie Larson- “Room”

Best Supporting Actor

Idris Elba- “Beasts of No Nation”

Best Supporting Actress

Mya Taylor- “Tangerine”

Best Screenplay

Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy- “Spotlight”

Best First Feature

Marielle Heller- “The Diary of a Teenage Girl”

Best First Screenplay

Emma Donoghue- “Room”

Best Cinematography

Edward Lachman- “Carol”

Best Editing

Tom McArdle- “Spotlight”

Okay. There they are. I’m not sure what to really say. There were so many nominated that I haven’t yet seen, so I could really only weigh the ones I had seen. Some were just because there seemed no other right choice, or best choice. I guess I’ll just have to wait and see. The selections I made for “Room”, “Spotlight”, and “Carol” were because I truly believe, of the nominees in the categories, they seemed to deserve it. The work stood out so vividly and I knew I had to choose it. Let’s hope I was right. Mind you, as I seem to be saying a lot this year, any of the other nominees would be worthy winners. I just might not be as excited by those wins.

Leave a Reply

