Another First Glance: “The Huntsman: Winter’s War”

Bash sequels, bash sequels, that’s all I seem to do. Yet, this time, I’m actually quite excited for one, especially when you consider the original film wasn’t all that good to begin with. I guess it goes to show how a much of a difference a top notch cast can do.

The upcoming Universal Pictures film “The Huntsman: Winter’s War”, is a visually beautiful film that actually seems like it’ll be better than the original film.

This action film stars Emily Blunt (upcoming “The Girl on the Train”, “Sicario”), Jessica Chastain (upcoming “The Zookeeper’s Wife”, “Crimson Peak”), Chris Hemsworth (upcoming “Ghostbutsers (2016)”, “In the Heart of the Sea”), and Charlize Theron (upcoming “Kubo and the Two Strings”, “Dark Places”).

The film is directed by Cedric Nicolas-Troyan (“Carrot Vs Ninja (Short 2011)”) and written by Evan Spiliotopoulos (“Mini Adventures of Winnie the Pooh”, “Hercules”) and Craig Mazin (“The Hangover Part III”, “Identity Thief”).

The film is expected to hit theaters on April 22, 2016.
  
Thank god for second trailers. The first one gave us some exciting stuff, and introduced a new villain, but compared to this one, didn’t truly have much in the way of a plot. I’m pretty certain I’d still be excited about this film, somehow, and would see it at some point, but now I have even more reason to want to. Is it going to be the best thing out there? I can’t tell. I want to believe that it will be well worth it, but maybe that’s too much to ask for. I guess I’ll have to wait and see when it comes out.

I am amazed! This film is absolutely beautiful! All levels! The cast (yes, I’m going to be that shallow), the costumes and digital effects, plus whatever else I can’t think of. It’s all so well done! I feel that in some way it’s even more well done than the first film. The first film was fine, but here, I feel it’s achieving some other kind of visual and creative level.

Sibling rivalry is at this film’s core, followed closely with the classic plot of stopping those that are evil. Since this film is aiming to be both, a prequel and a sequel, it’s got quite a lot to accomplish. But, I think this can all be accomplished. I’m primarily thinking about the three women playing such interesting characters. These women are all vocal about the types of roles they take and what types of female characters they get to play. This makes sense in general, but knowing this I’m hoping the writers will have given thought when writing the story. It’s because of this that I think there’s a lot of promise with regards to the actual story and the characters that will be in this film.

I’m particularly interested in seeing how this sibling rivalry really begins and how it affects the rest of the story. I mean, Blunt and Theron do appear to be taking on each other and it looks like there may be a slight team up with Hemsworth’s character to take down Theron’s Ravenna. If that’s not exciting, I don’t know what is. It could make for some really good drama, that actually means something and does more than move the story forward. Maybe I’m just expecting more from this film than I should be. And there’s also Chastain’s character. She’s the love interest, in part, of Hemsworth’s character, but what happens to them? Does she stop appearing in the film before it becomes the sequel? Does she come back, as it looks like when Theron is lifting her up by the throat? I may have just answered my own question, but I’m not one hundred percent sold on this. Another reason to watch!

This cast still has me excited! It’s an impressive cast! The original film interested me mostly because of Theron, and she was a fantastic villain! Now, somehow, she’s back, but accompanied by Blunt and Chastain! Each of these three women are immensely talented, and that’s what’s now making me excited for this film. Blunt is continuing to show me she’s capable of all sorts of roles. If the material’s decent, then she can do great things. Chastain hasn’t really ever done action. In “The Debt”, she had a few moments where she needed to perform martial arts, and that was exciting and well executed, but nothing else that I can recall. I’m excited to see what writers gave her character and how much she got to do. If she didn’t get to do a lot then I may be a big waste on several levels.

I rail against sequels constantly, and most of the time, rightly so. This time, not only am I excited for this, but I’m okay with getting behind this film. I have no doubts that I’ll enjoy it on some level, even if many others don’t or just straight up hate it. Sometimes it really is good to just throw caution to the wind. In this case, I’m also throwing out my typical belief that sequels suck (which this one could) and aren’t worth it. Here’s to hoping I’m not too far off the mark.

Leave a Reply

