Another First Glance: “The Danish Girl”

I keep forgetting about the power of a single trailer, especially when it’s the second or third trailer for a given film. You know real well that the first trailer sold you on the film and that it’s now one you want to see. However, time’s gone on and many more trailers for many more films have come and gone. The reason for liking an upcoming film may be lost and little reminder may do the trick.

The upcoming Focus Features film “The Danish Girl”, looks to be a well crafted and beautiful film that is bound to move you to the point of heartbreak.

This biographical drama stars Eddie Redmayne (“Jupiter Ascending”, “The Theory of Everything”), Alicia Vikander (upcoming “Burnt”, “The Man from U.N.C.L.E”), Ben Whishaw (upcoming films “Spectre”, “Suffragette”), Sebastian Koch (“Bridge of Spies”, “Homeland”), Amber Heard (“Magic Mike XXL”, “3 Days to Kill”), and Matthias Schoenaerts (“Far From the Madding Crowd”, “A Little Chaos”).

The film is directed by Tom Hooper (“Les Miserables (2012)”, “The King’s Speech”) and written by Lucinda Coxon (“The Crimson Petal and the White”, “Wild Target”). It is based on the novel of the same name by David Ebershoff.

The film is set to open on Nov. 27, 2015 in a limited release and a wide release later on, probably in January of 2016. The film has already screened at the Venice International Film Festival and the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF).

In some ways I’d forgotten about this film. Life in general, and the fact that I’ve been getting myself really excited for a variety of films that have opened and are soon to open, all of which I really want to see. Plus, as always, I’m waiting on a few trailers that haven’t dropped. So, I was pleasantly surprised when a new, albeit shorter, trailer debuted online recently. I just knew I needed to take a look at it as soon as I could to see if there was anything new worth getting excited about.

I’m just going to say it, but I don’t recall exactly all that the first trailer had in it and how I felt because of it. I guess it’s what made watching this new one all the more impactful.

This trailer I feel, more so than the first, really focused, almost exclusively, on the relationship between Redmayne’s and Vikander’s characters. The love that these two share with each other is so evident and believable that even within this little over a minute run time, I was able to feel so much. I don’t think I’d thought it possible to feel that much. While watching this trailer, and seeing just how much they do love each other, even after Redmayne realizes who he really is, I discovered that this love never left. It wavered a bit, but grew even stronger. And it’s going to be more so because of this love, and the way the performances show this, that we as the audience want to stick around at all, and will probably grow to love these two people. Originally I just found all of the components of the first trailer exciting, but now I’m excited for a different reason. I dare say that this may be the first time that a movie with true romance at its center has me this captivated and interested.

Like the first trailer, the performances look solid. Really good. Each new comment I hear from a critic has me nodding in agreement. This trailer had a few bits of new footage, not much, and that was fine, as I was able to see a little bit more of these two and judge what I believe their respective performances will be like. One moment that amazed me, that was new, was when Vikander is speaking to some doctor she apparently trusted, but learns she shouldn’t have. I could see the devastation, which only added to all the other emotional moments, happy and sad, that were put on display here. I know it’s early to talk about awards, but I’m really excited about Vikander and the chances she’ll have to be recognized by those in the industry. Critics approval is great, but industry recognition is even better. At the very least, for both Vikander and Redmayne, it shows that they each know how to get into a complicated character. There’s so much for them each to do, that I fear, in a way that’ll still be positive, that Vikander could easily overshadow Redmayne.

And then, which wows me just like that of “Carol”, there’s everything else. Every little bit that is necessary to bring this period and world to life. I’m amazed by it all and believe I will get easily lost in it. One thing I don’t think I fully took notice of the first time around was the cinematography. I had to watch the trailer a few more times just to focus solely on that. There are already so many scenes I like because of the way the film was shot. There’s great use of the surroundings and set pieces and decorations, and that’s just what’s seen from this short trailer. I’m sure the film itself will offer so much more that my jaw will probably drop open.

For film’s that I’m excited about, even if I learn of them months ago, I get ridiculously excited about trailers and TV spots. Even though I know it’s not necessary to be this excited, as I’m already sold on it, I can’t help it. Perhaps it just has to do with the fact that for several months it’s the only thing that will put you at ease while you wait for the actual film to open. Whatever it is, I’m glad that I can obsess over something so short, yet so full of beauty and excitement as this is a prime example of why I love films so much.

Leave a Reply

