Pilot: “Sense8”

  
Some shows are only as good as those that create them. For some, it’s really hit or miss. Others, it’s hit after hit. Then, and there’s plenty of those, it’s miss every single time. It’s not for lack of trying, but it may simply be that the brand they’ve been using for years just isn’t working anymore.

The Netflix Original Productions “Sense8”, doesn’t actually have all that much going for it that will make you excited for more episodes.

This sci-fi drama stars Aml Ameen (upcoming “Lila & Eve”, “Beyond the Lights”), Doona Bae (“Jupiter Ascending”, “A Girl at My Door”), Jamie Clayton (“Scissr (Short 2014)”, “Hustling”), Tena Desae (“The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel”, “Sharafat Gayi Tel Lene”), Tuppence Middleton (“Spooks: The Greater Good”, “Jupiter Ascending”), Max Riemelt (“Warsaw ‘44”, “Free Fall”), Miguel Angel Silvestre (“Velvet”, “I’m So Excited!”), Brian J. Smith (“Watch Dogs”, “Defiance”), Freema Agyeman (“The Carrie Diaries”, “Law & Order: UK”), Terrence Mann (“Freedom”, “Smash”), Anupam Kher (“Roy”, “Baby”), Naveen Andrews (“Once Upon a Time in Wonderland”, “Diana”), and Daryl Hannah (“2047: Sights of Death”, “Social Nightmare”).

The series was created by Andy Wachowski (“Jupiter Ascending”, “Cloud Atlas”) and Lana Wachowski (“Speed Racer”, “V for Vendetta”), and J. Michael Straczynski (“Underworld: Awakening”, “Ninja Assassin”).

It debuted on June 5, 2015 on Netflix.

I can’t believe it’s happened. No, not that I didn’t remember that a new Netflix series was going to debut, but that I may have actually found one that I am not over the moon about. I guess when you think about it, it was only a matter of time before Netlix aired a show that wasn’t very good. It’s sad that it had to be this one. How is that sad? Simply, the Wachowskis. Although if you like weird, then you’re fine. This has that and you’re not surprised, mainly because of its primary creators.

Even though I’ve made it through to episode five? six? one of those, as of this writing, I’m still not impressed. Now I know this is about the pilot, and I’ll get back to it, but I felt, since I’m now getting to this piece, that it was worth mentioning that the progression of the series hasn’t gotten better, if that makes sense.

Anyway, going back to what happened in and with the pilot.

Umm… umm… uh, well, you see… [exhales]. That’s a very good question. What did happen?

I know I was there, but really, I can’t tell you what happened. Nothing happened. It’s a pilot. Character introductions must be done. Well, they were, but in the most boring manner ever. I sadly, even now, all these episodes in, can barely tell you who the hell anybody is. At this moment, I’m still calling Sayid from “Lost”, Sayid.

To make matters worse (it’s possible) the pilot chose to bounce back and forth so many times that keeping track of all the individual storylines is kind of hard. It doesn’t help that most, if not all, of the storylines and the characters themselves, are quite boring and move very, very slowly. It’s part of the reason I don’t know who anybody is. It’s also the reason why I can’t figure out why I should care about them at all.

The only upside, I think, is that early on, for those that didn’t watch the trailer, it’s mentioned what’s going to happen to the characters, and sort of why, but instead of jumping straight in, the characters are slowly thinking they’re going crazy. No really, they’re still trying to figure out why so much weird shit is occurring. Hearing things. Seeing things. They still have no clue why or how it’s happening. Long before the episode ends we know that there’s someone that is or will be after them, but that bit isn’t really important, so it’s not mentioned again. I honestly can’t recall if in the next few episodes any big bad guys have shown up again.

But focusing, for a bit more, on the pilot, nothing happened. You get to know the characters in some pretty broad ways, but not in any meaningful way that will make you like someone more than another. If one did plan on going and watching this pilot or any more of the show, pick up knitting, or have a coloring book on hand. You’ll need something to keep you awake. By the end I’d decided that it is definitely the slowest start to any show I’ve ever seen. And for a Netflix series, that’s saying a lot. I think it’s a bit the mystery that’s keeping me intrigued, and returning for the next episodes, but I can tell, even just from the pilot, that it needs to do a hell of a lot more for me to come back for season two, if it gets that far. It also will need to be compelling enough so I can make real progress before the new season of “Orange is the New Black” begins on June 12.

The Somewhat misleading series trailer:

2 thoughts on “Pilot: “Sense8”

Leave a Reply

