Pilot: “Daredevil (2015 TV series)”

  
One TV series based on a well known comic book world isn’t enough. Dominating the film world with the same comic book world isn’t enough either. So, out comes another series to take up more of our time. Here’s hoping it’s worth it, unlike some other programing found on the same platform.

The ABC Studios and Marvel Television series “Daredevil”, may need some time to fully develop, or at least, get me really excited beyond the 13 episodes I’ll probably sit through over the next few days, weeks, or months; you know, based on how quickly I decide to watch them.

This drama series stars Charlie Cox (“The Theory of Everything”, “Hello Carter”), Deborah Ann Woll (“True Blood”, “Highland Park”), Elden Henson (“The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part I”, “Intelligence”), Toby Leonard Moore (“White Collar”, “John Wick”), Bob Gunton (“Trophy Wife”, “New Girl”), and Vincent D’Onofrio (upcoming “Jurassic World”, “The Judge”).

The series was created by Drew Goddard (“World War Z”, “The Cabin in the Woods”). It is based on the Marvel comics created by Stan Lee and Bill Everett.

The series debuted on April 10, 2015 on Netflix.

So, I actually watched this quite some time ago, but surprisingly I haven’t actually seen any other episodes. I wasn’t feeling that there was a need to hurry with this series; coupled with the fact that the next season doesn’t premier for another year certainly helps. I can say it’s because I got busy, in part. The other part, as you’ll see in a bit, I wasn’t blown away by it. I certainly liked it better than “Bloodline”, and it’s other first few episodes, but I still didn’t have a desire to sit for hours to find out what happens next with the man who will be Daredevil.

It wasn’t because the acting was bad, I wish. I think it was everything else about this show, most of which is crucial for the world being developed.

It’s, as of right now and with good reason, a police procedural. One could actually say it’s another courtroom series, but there’s really not much of a difference there. Potato, potato.
As I was sitting there, I was interested, which is good seeing as it was just the pilot. I just was thrown by the fact that the intro fight scene with Cox was okay, but incredibly dark. I guess I wasn’t it expecting it to be as dark as it turned out. I get why he’d be skulking around at night, but even so, did the fight have to be hard to see. If you’re goal is to have gritty fight scenes, I’d like to see them. Sadly, this never really changed.

Moving past the action sequences, there’s the case of the week! The moment Woll’s character was speaking with Cox and explaining who she was and what she did, I had no reason to fear. If she wasn’t the only main female character in this episode, I might have been able to be kept in some kind of suspense. I wasn’t. I figured out the rest of the case, based on the fact that she’s a main cast member. Kind of annoying from a storytelling point. It didn’t help that a lot of this case of the week made up most of the episode, and by 30 minutes I was noticing that nothing had really happened. It’s a more slow and boring episode of “Law & Order”.

For something that’s ultimately going to prove to be a character drama, there’s not much going for any of them. I don’t dislike any of them, but I have no reason, as of yet, to get overly excited about them. I think this will just be something that either comes or doesn’t, with time. I do like that I feel that there is going to be great chemistry with the characters.

Not all shows are going to be perfect on the first trip out, but hopefully it has you interested enough to want to come back. I probably will, as there’s only 13 episodes and that’s not much to get through. If I don’t like it, then that’s one less show I’ll be watching. Of course, there’s also the obnoxious issue of forcing references to “The Avengers” into the dialogue and having way too obvious set ups for the next episode, not like they tried to hide this or be creative. I’ll have to wait and see if I can get past this, as watching one show (“Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.”) with constant references to the world in which the series takes place, as if I didn’t already know, get’s old very quickly.

Leave a Reply

