At First Glance: “Avengers: Age of Ultron”

The summer movie comic book adaptations are tiresome, simply because there’s one every year and they never really have a plot. There’s some semblance of one, but it’s usually quite simple and overly broad in scope. Yes, I watch them, but I can’t say I do so with the same excitement as other super fans of these movies.

With the first teaser trailer for the upcoming Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures film “Avengers: Age of Ultron”, I’m changing my mind on this, for the moment, as I’m sure, when the release date nears, I’ll see too many other trailers and TV spots, I’ll revert to thinking there’s really no story.

This action film stars Robert Downey Jr. (“The Judge”, “Chef”), Chris Evans (“Captain America: The Winter Soldier”, “Snowpiercer”), Chris Hemsworth (“Thor: The Dark World”, “Rush”), Mark Ruffalo (upcoming “Foxcatcher”, “The Normal Heart”), Scarlett Johansson (“Lucy”, “Captain America: The Winter Soldier”), Jeremy Renner (“Kill the Messenger”, “Louie”), Samuel L. Jackson (“RoboCop”, “Reasonable Doubt”), Cobie Smulders (“The Lego Movie”, “They Came Together”), James Spader (“The Blacklist”, upcoming “The Homesman”), Elizabeth Olsen (“Godzilla (2014)”, “Oldboy”), Aaron Taylor-Johnson (“Godzilla (2014)”, “Kick-Ass 2”), and Paul Bettany (“Transcendence”, “Iron Man 3”).

This film is written and directed by Joss Whedon (“Much Ado About Nothing”, “The Avengers”).

The film is due to hit theaters on May 1, 2015.

Spader! That’s really all that needs to be said. I could stop right now. If you’ve seen any of the more notable things he’s done in the last decade, you’ll know easily why I’m excited about this. One, he’s a brilliant actor, two, and most importantly, it’s his voice. When he started the voiceover, that makes up the majority of the teaser, I froze and smiled at the mere sound of his voice. It’s the perfect voice for this Ultron character. As I’m not a comic book reader, I know not of how this character affects anyone or anything. Originally, when I heard he was attached, I thought it was silly, but now I’m fully on board with him voicing the villain.

The dark tone seems to be returning. After having seen “Captain America: The Winter Soldier” I began to feel a renewed sense of hope for these films. Now, with this teaser, that same hope is present. It could just be the way the trailer is cut, but I do feel that the dark and destructive tone established in “Captain America: The Winter Soldier” will continue to be a big part of the overall franchise, if not, at least this film.

Everything else you’d expect from a Marvel film is definitely going to be present. Big action sequences, fight sequences, and characters! While it may seem somewhat tiresome to only see a certain handful of Avengers, seeing them in action, at long last, is just as exciting! Even more exciting, is that this trailer remembered to include better glimpses of Taylor-Johnson and Olsen’s characters. While the moments were brief, I was certainly amped up more than I’d expect, if I’d thought about it. There’s so much action and, what seems like some really emotional moments, that this could very well take the top spot as the best film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU)!

While I was originally expecting to have to wait until the next new episode of “Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.”, and still remain confused as to why this was made into a big news item, I’ll take this early internet release! It’s not everyday that I can get excited about the next film in a franchise that doesn’t really put a lot of thought into its films stories.

Leave a Reply

