At First Glance: “The Babadook”

When it comes to horror, very little ever excites me. And those that do, are a bit too spoilery that it makes you wonder what makes the film worth it?

With the upcoming Australian horror film “The Babadook”, there is a renewed hope in this ever increasingly difficult genre.

This horror film stars Essie Davis (“Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries”, “The Slap”), Daniel Henshall (“Turn”, “Around the Block”), Noah Wiseman, Hayley McElhinney (“Rizzoli & Isles”, “Inhuman Resources”), Barbara West, and Ben Winspear (“A Place to Call Home”, “Rake”).

The film was written and directed by Jennifer Kent (“Two Twisted”, “Monster (Short 2005)”).

According to Bloody Disgusting, the film is set for release in the US on Nov. 28, by IFC Midnight. The film also showed at the 2014 Sundance Film Festival.

Wow! That’s all I can seem to muster. That and being a lot more scared than I feel I should be. I’ve seen at least three different trailers for this film, one with only slight differences, the other cut completely different, and each one still managed to scare me! Very hard to do as you’d expect to see more of the Babadook by now. Fortunately not. It’s also the reason I’ve included all three trailers, that I know exist, there could be more. The original one, which I saw first, is posted above.

So, what is the great thing about the trailer? The main event is completely shrouded in mystery, darkness, and allows for your mind to completely take over and put you into a heightened state of suspense, if not terror. The last time I felt scared like this was with the teaser trailer for the Guillermo del Toro produced film “Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark”. Creepy stuff! And while the longer trailer and red band trailer eventually showed the creatures, the teaser was frightening. It, much like with the first trailer, is the one that sold me on this horror movie.

I will grant, that I probably shouldn’t have watched it twice, in the dark, in the middle of the night. It was something like 1:15am when I stumbled upon it instead of sleeping. I’m happy that I did! And that’s another thing that’s got me hooked! If a simple trailer can get me this creeped out now, what can the full film do? One reason I love horror, and despise most horror films, is that I’m looking for something genuinely scary, creepy and one that will stick with me for a bit. I think of my first time watching “Insidious”, and how unnerved I was. Not to the degree I may be with “The Babadook, but enough that it ranks up there as a great horror film.

Lastly, it’s not just that the creature wasn’t present in the trailer, it’s that there was so much darkness. A lot of shadows. And out right creepy noises and situations that my imagination didn’t much help. Unlike what “Darkness Falls” failed to do, this film is taking something simple, and making it your worst nightmare. Can we just get this movie out right now?!

Possible US release trailer (or just another trailer):

UK trailer, (Slightly different from the first one I saw, but just as scary):

Leave a Reply

