At First Glance: “The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel”

When it comes to the older set of actors that populate the film industry, one would get the impression that these actors are going to slow down and almost retire. Fortunately, this is not the case, as some other actors would like you to believe. There are roles for older people and women too!

In the upcoming Fox Searchlight Pictures film “The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel”, viewers will once again be traveling back to this, now successful, hotel, with it’s older inhabitant and beautiful surroundings.

This comedy drama stars Judi Dench (“Philomena”, “Vicious”), Maggie Smith (“Downton Abbey”,”Quartet”), Bill Nighy (upcoming “Pride”, “I, Frankenstein”), Dev Patel (“The Newsroom”, “About Cherry”), Penelope Wilton (“Downton Abbey”, “Belle”), Celia Imrie (“The Love Punch”, “Love & Marriage”), Ronald Pickup (“Young Dracula”, “Doc Martin”), David Strathairn (“Godzilla (2014)”, “Maladies”), and Richard Gere (“Cosmos: A SpaceTime Odyssey”, “Movie 43”).

The film is directed by John Madden (“The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel”, “The Debt”), and written by Ol Parker (“Now is Good”, “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel”).

This film is expected to hit theaters on March 6, 2015! (WOW!)

I want to first point out, as it is amusing, that I’m writing about a film, a sequel, to a film I’ve still not seen. How is that possible? It just is. No, it’s actually because I haven’t been able to see it. Simple, right? Regardless, I’m just as excited about this film as I was when the first film’s trailer came out, and everything else followed.

This film excites me because it’s funny and, as the title suggests, exotic. The actors all know how to be anything but just old people with health issues. While this trailer doesn’t really explain a lot about what kinds of stories we’ll see from these people, or what the central plot will be, that doesn’t stop me from caring.

I get excited when I see older actors breaking away from seemingly traditional roles expected of them. Playing the grandparent, the wise old somebody or the sick elderly person the kids go see for about five minutes of the movie. This film, reminds me of the film “Calendar Girls” and seeing the trailer for “Quartet”, at least, in tone. And “Calendar Girls” was funny!

One thing I can’t forget, are the actors themselves. Each one, at least the ones I recognize, have all been part of some spectacular films or television projects. Each character they play has been so interesting and easily one you can like and care about. Because of this, and not just solely because of who they are, I’m certain the same care will be taken with these characters.

A good comedy is hard enough to come by, but a good comedy starring a group of older actors even more so. When watching the trailer, several times over, I was continuously laughing. I see this being because of the actual humor and chemistry from the actors. All the more reason to be excited for this film, even if it doesn’t open for another seven months.

Oh yeah! What’s with the title? I get it’s a sequel, so I applaud Parker for that, but it makes it sound like there’s a second hotel. Is there going to be a second exotic marigold hotel and it will be competing with the original for the title of “Best”? No? I’m over thinking it? Yeah, probably.

Leave a Reply

