TV Movie: “Sharktopus vs. Pteracuda”

20140802-232020-84020808.jpg
The bad TV movie is still a mystery. Mainly on how it draws someone to want to watch it in the first place.

The SyFy film “Sharktopus vs. Pteracuda” somehow really got me excited for cheesy dialogue, bad acting, and worse, terrible visual effects.

This sci-fi film stars Robert Carradine (“Django Unchained”, “Bikini Spring Break”), Rob Hillis (“Haunting of the Innocent”, “Birthday Cake”), Katie Savoy (“Palace of the Damned”, “Virtually Heroes”), Tony Evangelista (“It’s Temporary”, “Attack of the 50ft Cheerleader”), and Conan O’Brien (Yes, that Conan O’Brien).

The film is directed by Kevin O’Neill (“Dracano”, “Attack of the 50ft Cheerleader”) and written by Matt Yamashita (“Virtually Heroes”).

The film premiered on Aug. 2, 2014.

The only thing I was expecting was an absolutely ridiculous plot, with very little actual explanation of how anyone got from point A to Z. And a cameo appearance by O’Brien. The best moment of the film!

It didn’t actually take much for me to want to see this film, but I truly believe half of the reason why was stemming from the built up excitement that was a week long “Sharknado” celebration week. That week included “Sharknado 2: The Second One” premiering just days before, as well as some assortment of bad shark themed movies. The network really did go all out for this.

Needless to say, this film was incredibly stupid. You could walk out of the room and not miss anything in the 10 minutes you’d been gone. Unlike “Sharknado 2: The Second One”, this one seemed like it wanted to have a believable story, like most do. Ultimately they fail. I stuck around because I knew there’d be some ridiculous thing that would be worth making fun of and getting a laugh out of. There were plenty!

It was mainly about the death scenes and the little things that would lead up to panic and death. For instance, and this covers a lot of bases, I got a kick out of the fact that there was once again, another plane involved. This one was smaller, but still suffered from bad timing. One of the characters was so rude to the flight attendant, calling her a stewardess, but only after suffering a trauma with the Sharktopus. On the flight the Pteracuda begins attacking the plane (of course), and the character says, as the plane heads for the ground, “I think we’re going to make it.” … *BOOM* They all died.

For anyone that chose to experience this week of ridiculous SyFy movies, then you may get why I enjoyed this film. I was laughing at a lot of moments, when I really shouldn’t have been. Some, like the above mentioned scenario, were flat out funny, and others somehow were. I also believe this was due to the preceding film. An encore of “Sharknado 2”. I was watching it again, for some reason, and it was still exciting! I believe I was on some kind of laughing fit high. It carried over into the next film and didn’t let up!

I don’t know why, nor do I think I could ever explain my love of self inflicted torture like this, but I do. If films like this play on a semi-regular basis, and I need a distraction, they’re my go to films! I’ll play them all day. While this film will probably fit that mold, I doubt I’ll find the same enjoyment in it as I did upon first seeing it. Why? The thrill ride of the week won’t be there to get me hyped up.

Leave a Reply

