At First Glance: “Laggies”

Every now and then I’m absolutely surprised by a trailer. With so much that occurs in any given day, sometimes things slip past, like they originally did with this particular trailer. Fortunately I got around to watching it and I was glad I did.

The upcoming A24 released film “Laggies” has enough humor and charm to keep anyone entertained.

This romantic comedy stars Keira Knightley (“Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit”, “The Duchess”), Chloë Grace Moretz (“Carrie (2013)”, “Kick Ass 2”), Sam Rockwell (“A Case of You”, “The Way Way Back”), Ellie Kemper (“Sex Tape”, “The Mindy Project”), and Gretchen Mol (“Boardwalk Empire”, “Life on Mars”).

The film is directed by Lynn Shelton (“Your Sister’s Sister”, “Humpday”) and written by Andrea Seigel.

It is slated to be released on Sept. 26, if not later. The film has already premiered at the Sundance Film Festival on Jan. 17, 2014.

There’s, surprisingly, a lot to love about this upcoming film. First, there’s the distribution company, A24, which I’ve sort of heard of, but nothing as notable as Annapurna Pictures, or the really established companies. Fortunately, A24 has had a hand in releasing such films as, “Spring Breakers”, “The Bling Ring”, “The Spectacular Now” and the upcoming film “The Rover”. If that doesn’t get you excited, I don’t know what will. For me, it certainly helps that this company has some pretty good legs to stand on.

Next, of course, is the cast. Knightley and Grace Moretz in particular have been putting out some pretty fun stuff, of late. And this year alone both are going to appear in some interesting, provocative, dramatic, and as has been apparent from the praise from critics, heartwarming, charming and funny (see “Begin Again”).

Another reason for getting excited for these two is that they seldom bore me or put out a truly terrible film. I’ve enjoyed the performances they gave in most everything. If I didn’t it was because of other reasons in the overall film that ruined the entire experience. Does anyone remember “Never Let Me Go”?

With regard to Rockwell, I’m not bothered by his appearance. I haven’t seen much of his work, that I can recall, but the stuff he’s been a part of, has been good. Of course, he’s usually been surrounded by other good actors so that no doubt helped.

I like the story a lot. It sounds kind of lame, but it’s because of the characters, already, that has me really wanting to see this film. That, and the film’s trailer had me laughing out loud from the situations presented in the story. The characters are also really charming and provide something a little relatable, or so it seems. Something I noticed, which is part of the story overall, is how much Knightley’s character reminded me of watching “Young Adult”, except for the main characters selfishness in that film. The film worked, but in a darker and cynical way, as opposed to the lighter film we’re no doubt going to get here with “Laggies”.

Lastly, I love that Shelton is the director for this film. That doesn’t mean someone else couldn’t have done something really great with this film, but as I’ve seen, at least, “Your Sister’s Sister” and absolutely loved it! I’m even more excited and confident in this film.

While this may be a romantic comedy, and those usually suck, it’s the small indie quality that sets it apart. With the help of what looks, and I’m hoping, is a smart script from first time writer Seigel, this film has a lot of potential. In a time when tickets cost an arm and a leg, I think I’d be okay sacrificing my left side.

Leave a Reply

