At First Glance: “The Imitation Game”

Normally I’m not excited about films that have to do with any war, mainly because once you’ve seen one, you’ve pretty much seen them all. However, I believe this could be one time, if not the only, where I’m excited to make an exception.

The upcoming drama “The Imitation Game”, just had its trailers debut today. That’s right, I said trailers. I’ve never seen something like this, so I don’t know what it means, but it’s exciting none the less! The second can be found here.

This biographical thriller stars Benedict Cumberbatch (“Sherlock”, “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”), Keira Knightley (“Seeking a Friend for the End of the World”, “A Dangerous Method”), Matthew Goode (“The Good Wife”, “Death Comes to Pemberley”), Mark Strong (“Anna”, “Low Winter Sun”), and Charles Dance (“Game of Thrones”, “Patrick”).

It is directed by Morten Tyldum (“Headhunters”, “Fallen Angels”) and written by Graham Moore (“10 Things I Hate About You (TV series)”), based on the book, “Alan Turing: The Enigma” by Andrew Hodges.

The film is set to be released by The Weinstein Company on Nov. 21.

I am, of course, once again really excited to see Cumberbatch do something else that isn’t related to “Sherlock”. That seems to be the only thing anyone knows him for, which is sad, as he’s got a lot of promise. His character in this film looks to be so complicated and determined, so he should be fun to watch.

The thing that really appeals to me, other than Cumberbatch and the rest of the talented cast, is the story itself. I’ve only heard of Alan Turing briefly, so I’ve never been able to look up who he was and all he had to do. The trailer really drew me in and had me wanting to know, not just who he was, but how he got to solving the Enigma code. The film isn’t going to just stop there, but encompass his life before and after the codes been broken, so there’s so much to learn and enjoy in this film.

I’ve seen both the US and international trailers, and am currently under the belief that this film has potential. My only drawback, as I discovered, is the man who wrote the screenplay, really hasn’t done anything. That’s not a condemnation of his writing skills, but simply gives me pause and wonders if he can do justice to a book and a man and moment in history. Guess we’ll have to wait and see.

I’m hoping the pacing of the trailer show that there could be a pretty good level of suspense in this film, and I’m excited for that. For a historically set film, this can be hard to do as you already know the outcome of the events being told. But, as is the case with me, I don’t know any of the specifics, the stuff that occurred in between, so I’m sure I can enjoy watching it all occur and still be surprised by the actions the characters take.

Leave a Reply

